Unawatuna Beach Resort

3.5 out of 5 stars3.5 Stars

Unawatuna, Galle, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka, LK

0 Reviews

Unawatuna Beach Resort
Enter dates for best prices
Compare best prices from top travel partners
Orbitz.com Expedia.com Booking.com

79%

Satisfaction Average
Excellent
27%
89
Very Good
36%
118
Average
16%
54
Poor
11%
38
Terrible
8%
27

N/A

Value Score No Data

Show Prices

Good For Solo
  • Families64
  • Couples64
  • Solo85
  • Business60

More about Unawatuna Beach Resort

Good value basic room

by Sambawalk about Silva Hotel

Mosty of the room in Unawatuna are somewhat expensive, especially near the Unawatuna Beach Resort area. They charge as much as Rs2,000 for a basic room that I would pay Rs1,000 in other parts of the country.

I am happy with this basic guesthouse for Rs600 with a balcony on 2nd floor. It has a nice garden. See other pics for room view. It is located somewhere along Wella Dewala Road.

Villa en Paradise

by MelechMonteverde about Hotel

Positives:

The hotel is certainly clean and quiet.

If you're worried about another tsunami you're up high on a hill.

Roger the proprietor is an amiable, helpful fellow -- but watch out for your wallet (see below)l

If everything else is booked this would be okay.

Negatives:

Up on a hill, across a busy road from the beach.

But you must cross a busy road to the beach.

There are over a dozens of much nicer places right on or next to the beach in all price categories -- Unawatuna Beach Resort, Norlanka, Villa Beach, etc. check out on this and other sites, or simply walk down the beach! Beware of the Roger the proprietor's business practices:

He attempted to add $100 to our bill because the "exchange rate had changed" from the time we had paid the deposit -- after he had use of our money for over 6 months.

We rented a villa he was managing, and he invited us for breakfast. Only when paying the bill a week later I see he billed us for that breakfast -- and it was more of a snack than a breakfast. After I complained, Roger did refund the charge, but other travelers report similar experiences.

The villa we rented used to be advertised on Villa en Paradise website, but was pulled after our stay, because it was simply not ready to be rented to holidaymakers. Don't be talked into this, its really poor value.

Beach House

by alycat about Midum Villa Guest House

In the interiors of Egoda Watta, enroute Unawatuna beach, lies Midum Guest house. It has comfortable rooms with hot and cold water. It has small and medium sized rooms with spacious balconies to laze in the mornings and evenings. It is a lil bit costly, but its worth it. It has a village and jungle feel to it, and best of all is a 5 min walk from the beach.

Unawatuna Beach

by ak47uk

A great beach to swim because it is protected by a reef, it's also good for snorkling. It's quite a small bay and the tide comes in close to the shore, it's very popular with the locals on the week-ends when it gets busy.

Unawatuna beach is not off the...

by TJHR

Unawatuna beach is not off the beaten path, but by western standards it is! Great setting, lots of friendly people.

Photos

Unawatuna BeachUnawatuna Beach

Unawatuna beachUnawatuna beach

Unawatuna beachUnawatuna beach

Unawatuna beachUnawatuna beach

Forum Posts

Unawatuna Beach Resort

by zihuadeb

Hi, Does anyone know anything about the above hotel? Also I have heard good things about the beach as far as snorkeling and swiming. Are there any restaurants along the beach?

Thanks for any information or other suggestions on beaches and or hotels to stay at.

Re: Unawatuna Beach Resort

by Emichelle

UBR, is one of the best on the Unawatuna beach, and Unawatuna beach is very nice for swimming and snorkling, additionally you could also drive upto mirissa or even take off from Galle and do whale watching, something that is really picking up in the South of Sri Lanka. The whale watching season goes on till about april. And almost every one who had tried it had been lucky in spotting whales. Suggestions for staying on the beach all depends on your budget. All the best and have a wonderful trip to Sri Lanka.

Re: Unawatuna Beach Resort

by Maxus

I’ve never stayed here so I had a quick look at the reviews in Trip Advisor, which aren’t exactly wonderful.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g297896-d1371738-r55879142-Unawatuna_Beach_Resort-Galle.html

Nice beach though and good laid-back resort with plenty of choice of places to stay.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels-g644047-Unawatuna-Hotels.html

Re: Unawatuna Beach Resort

by HansDK

UBR has mixed but mainly good reviews on TripAdvisor
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g644047-d587821-Reviews-Unawatuna_Beach_Resort-Unawatuna.html

The beach is good for snorkeling and swimming year round, though some narrower after the tsunami.

There are plenty of restaurants along the beach.

Mirissa is nicer than Unawatuna, but a bit more quiet. Paradise Beach Club is about the best place to stay there.

Re: Unawatuna Beach Resort

by zihuadeb

Thank you for your reply. From looking at their website the UBR looked like the kind of place I am looking for though I wanted a few opinions on what others thought.

My budget is the best value I can find. That said I am more interested in the smaller 3-4 star hotels. 120.00 USD + or - On the beach with or without a pool. Restaurant/bar onsite a must.

Deb

Re: Unawatuna Beach Resort

by HansDK

Have a look at http://www.srilankainstyle.com/ for smaller top end places to stay on the south coast.

unawatuna beach

by jeffers151

hi
we are thinking of staying in joes bungalows on unawatuna beach does anyone know where they are located. also is the beach ok in that area, are they near the main tourist area
thanks

Re: unawatuna beach

by Maxus

If i remember rightly Joe's is next to the sea and there's a sort of narrow beach but it's not good for swimming here. Unawatuna beach proper isn't far away though.

I haven't stayed at Joes but I had a nose around - it looks nice and well kept but it's not what I'd normally consider to be "beach bungalows" its a smallish boutique sort of hotel - a main building with some smaller buildings leading off it.

Never heard any complaints.

regards

Mark

Re: unawatuna beach

by puerto_lover

You find quite a few guest houses/bungalows/small hotels in this area and it is popular with holiday makers searching for the idyllic cove and palm trees close to water's edge and basically a nice place. Have not visited for some years but I would hope that it's still the same. No glitzy hotels or anything NAFF.
There are some places listed on Trip Advisor as well at Unawatuna.
Just round the corner from Galle.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels-g644047-c3-Unawatuna-Hotels.html

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels-g644047-c2-Unawatuna-Hotels.html

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels-g644047-Unawatuna-Hotels.html

For the record, Google Maps is good for general over views of any area. I use it all the time. (well not all the time - that would be stupid)

Re: unawatuna beach

by jeffers151

hi mark
thanks for the reply. i have a choice of 2 places to stay one is joes bungalows and the other is villa in paradise. i dont know which one to choose!!!!! they are both the same price. do you know which one is nearer the main tourist area and nice beach area?

Re: unawatuna beach

by jeffers151

hi thanks for the reply. its the first time i have used this site. i was really impressed by the rapid response. do you know villa in paradise? do you know if it is in a better area than joes?
thanks
julie

Re: unawatuna beach

by puerto_lover

Julie - you have to do your own research about this place. On TRIP ADVISOR it does give me some reason to wonder if it is the right place to stay.
As you are from Yorkshire and the owners of the V I P seem to be also from Yorkshire then perhaps you have some further delving to make.

Re: unawatuna beach

by Maxus

The Villa is off the beach across the Galle Road, I don't know it but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Have you looked at Unawatuna Beach Resort?

There's lots of great places to stay in Unawatuna (and right along this coast) in every price range, you could always book into one you feel comfortable with for a couple of nights and if you're not happy you can have a look around.

children

by bopotnik

We are planning for a 2 months visit to sri lanka. We are traveling with 2 children, 2 years and 6 months.
How is unuwatuna for children?
Are the beaches safe. Swiming pool?

Re: children

by Nilanka

Hello,

The beaches are safe for children but as always you must keep watchful eye. Swimming pools in most hotels have a kiddies pool. Whats you plan for 2 months? do contact if you require any help.

Cheers,

Nilanka

Re: children

by paultaylor9

Unawatuna beach is safe, there is a reef to the right of the beach where locals swim - the reef provides shelter from surf during the monsoon season of May-August as for pools check my external link it has a pool and caters for families, I think the beach Unawatuna beach resort has pool but might me more expensive

Comments

Popular Hotels in Unawatuna

Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Unawatuna, Sri Lanka

Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel

Colombo and South West Coast, Unawatuna

Show Prices

Unawatuna Beach Resort

Hotel Class 3.5 out of 5 stars 0 Reviews

Unawatuna, Galle, Unawatuna

Show Prices

Star Light Hotel

Talpe, Near Galle, Unawatuna

Show Prices

View all Unawatuna hotels

View all Unawatuna hotels

Latest Unawatuna hotel reviews

Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
141 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jun 19, 2014

 Unawatuna Beach Resort

We've found that other people looking for this hotel also know it by these names:

Unawatuna Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka, LK