We have stayed at Secret Harbour 8-times, you may be wondering why we went back with my heading. Please read entirely, it is worth the read. You would think that since we are loyal return customers we would at least get treated with respect...But No, Not from that Front Desk, they are rude and unaccommodating, still. We booked with Liberty Travel (GOGO), upon arrival, we were greeted in the normal fashion, we were recognized by the front desk clerk, but that was all the respect we got. After supplying them with our paper work we were told we got a “great room”, that Margaret loved this one particular room, and it was so nice, well we knew as soon as she gloated over and over again that something must be wrong, it is the worst location; room 131 on the beach, great furniture, but the balcony with No Beach View, over looked the BAR and complete complex, i.e. the view was of the top of the buildings that housed the Front Desk and Bar/Restaurant, NO privacy, No Beach view! But if you want to watch everyone coming and going from the parking lot and building it may work for you; NOT! It is a loud location because of the Bar, i.e. music at night and weddings. As soon as I heard the room number I felt sick in my stomach, first, knowing the location was in building 1 was bad enough (older buildings are 1 & 2, we have only ever stayed on the beach, thus, are not aware of the upper buildings quality). When my husband went back to let Margaret know we could not stay in that room. Hello, we are return customers and know the beach buildings well. Now remember we have already checked in with all our paper work, signed all proper documents etc., But the first thing Margaret said to my husband before he could ask for a new room location, was "Did you come back to give me your voucher?, because we don't get paid unless you give us a voucher, etc. Well, my husband told her that we gave her all the paper work that we received (this was the first time we used an outside agent). Margaret humiliated my husband, held up a "sample voucher" of what it should look like then made him call the travel agency in NY, but first I must say the Hotel had NO PHONE SERVICE the entire stay, never told us why or if it would ever work again, it never did! Therefore, we had to use our cell phones at a premium price per minute, my husband called Liberty Travel in NY and the agent said it is all done electronically, you don't need anything else, that the voucher should have printed out in duplicate when you checked-in, he then handed the phone to Margaret and she just took his cell phone and walked to the back of the reception area and handed it off to another lady. Meanwhile, he told Margaret that we could not, would not stay in room 131. While this was all going on, Tamah, another front desk clerk said to Margaret, isn't this the Voucher...the same exact voucher that Margaret showed my husband as an "example of what it should look like"...OUR VOUCHER!!! Hello!!! Then they punished us by putting us in Room 232 YUCK!!! OLD!!! Ugly old furniture, terrible bed, now remember we have stayed here 8-times, and had gotten stuck with that exact room years earlier...gross then, worse now. We had to put extra linens on sofa, just so we did not feel disgusting sitting on the furniture, OMG!!! We could not believe the DISRESPECT we just received. Seems if you don't like the first room they will just punish you with a worse room, (but it did have a better view ha-ha, joke was on us), the furniture must be original, terrible! We decided to stay in that room in Fear we would get worse treatment. You see, they are not accommodating at Secret Harbour, they never have been, we always knew it was pot luck there, but went back anyway; I guess we were the fools to think that seniority would hold a value to them, but NOT, loyalty does not matter them, because they are not loyal in return. They never fixed the phones in the suites, and never told us why; they just don’t care at Secret Harbour. The best thing about Secret Harbour is the beach; period. In all the years we have stayed there, they will not allow us to request a newly remodeled room, they still give us the worst bottom of the barrel rooms, they truly don’t care if you get a well-equipped room or not, and remember we are all paying the same price; whether it is newly remodeled or not, you just don’t know what you are getting till you get there. Also, I must point out that Unit 232 is hoarding seashell, they have wood boxed cabinets and bowls filled with them, with signs that say “Don’t Touch”, hello the sign going to the beach said the same thing but this owner 232 ignored that sign, and the owner of 232 stole all they could from the ocean and has then GLUED to wood cabinets with doors on them, thus, unless you open the doors you can’t even appreciate them anyway…terrible owners. They give you just the bare essentials in the kitchen, and some of the items should just be thrown out; this is the worst room we have ever stayed in; twice. We just can’t bring ourselves to go back again, we took a break because the last time we were there, we were disappointed also and went to St. John and rented Villa’s, that is the way to go, a Villa, at least you know ahead of time what it looks like and its amenities. We feel sad about Secret Harbour, but such is life. They are allowing a new restaurant owner to come in and enclose the outside eating area, WHY? We loved the breeze on the beach and the sound of the ocean, not a good decision, greed changes too many things. We ate at the restaurant of the “new owners” coming in the night before we left, they own The Cellar in Red Hook, we were not impressed, we were told by the server that the restaurant at Secret Harbour would not be up and running for “Lunch” till maybe October-2011, and as far as Dinner, hoping to get in by December-2011, no mention of breakfast at all…too bad…it will change the dynamics of the enjoyment that we use to have by having a great meal with a great view with ocean breezes, smells, sounds, etc., it will all be closed in now and A/C put in…too bad! Sometimes change is not good. Put more effort in the accommodations and you will continue to get return customers, putting too much effort in enclosing the restaurant is ridiculous if the rooms are outdated. Travel to Secret Harbour at your own risk! We are sad to say goodbye to the beach, but not the accommodations. St. John here we come, again!
Unique Quality: Nice Beach, that is all it has; period!
Directions: Red Hook
7150 (formerly Club Everything), St. Thomas, 00802, Caribbean
5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, 00801, Caribbean
8070 Lindbergh Bay, St. Thomas, 00802, Caribbean
100 Frenchman's Bay, , St. Thomas, 00802, Caribbean
Latest Saint Thomas hotel reviews