Hotel Beau Rivage

24 rue Saint Francois de Paule, Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, 06300, France
(4 star hotel)
#38
Rank 38 of 264 hotels
in Nice
Good (3.0 out of 5.0) 5 reviews
Write a Review

Value Score

Average Value

Price and Rating Equal to similar hotels

See Hotels with Better Ratings

Tags

Spa and Resort Beaches Business Travel
See Amenities
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices
  • Show Prices

Great Location - Rooms soso - Service sucks

Good (3.0 of 5.0 stars)
by written on July 20, 2008

I've spent 5 nights in this hotel. The location is great cse the market is just down the street and there are a lot of good restaurants in the neighbourhood. The original design of the hotel is nice - although especially the rooms would need renovation: there are scratches everywhere on the wall and the bathroom looked shabby. The worst about this hotel is the staff - they were all really unfriendly and slow. When I left they were unable to get me a cab in time (although I booked one a way in advance) so that I almost missed my flight back - of course no one dared to help me with my bags .. the stuff at the beach bar/restaurant is incredibly slow .. an average order for a drink took around 15 minutes (after waiting for at least another 10-15 minutes before) ... at the reception they made a big deal out of their private beach - but in fact everyone is allowed to go there - so nothing special at all. So to sum up: stay there if you like central locations and nicely designed hotels (although a bit run down). If lazy stuff annoyes you don't stay there. The hotel would be ok if there wouldn't be the price of something like 350€ the night.

Unique Quality: - close to the beach
- close to the market
- at the beginning of the old town
- close to the main shopping streets

Directions: old town / market area

Location doesn't make up for this Hotel!!!

Terrible (1.0 of 5.0 stars)
by written on June 25, 2006

We have been here for 2 days and to sum up our experience: I am dreading the next 2 days of our stay. This is the worst hotel we have stayed in during our trip here in France.

The staff has been rude and uncooperative and the hotel rooms themselves leave much to be desired. The walls are full of dents and scratches, the carpet is coming a part with stains (and bleach spots!) all over. The hotel boasts flat screen TVs but the speakers in our room don't work. We have tried both days of our stay to order breakfast in the room. The first day they "forgot" to pick up the menu on the door and the second day they didn't ever deliver the food. Of course both times we called the front desk and were treated rudely. Last night we asked to have a taxi waiting for us this morning so that we could make it to our 9 AM appointment and were told we should wait until the morning because it only takes 5 minutes. This morning we called for the taxi and were told that there aren't any available, we should have asked for one the night before!!! We missed our appointment. But don't worry the front desk called us 1 1/2 hours later to see if we still needed a taxi. A little late for the appointment, but that didn't seem to bother them.

The hotel boasts easy access to the beach with a private beach for hotel guests, but this is deceiving. The beach is open to anyone who pays and the only difference between being a guest and not is that guests get a 2 euro discount: 14 euros instead of 16.

My advice... Stay at a different hotel and just enjoy the public beaches or pay 2 euros more for a place at the hotel's beach. Trust me, your stay in Nice will be much more enjoyable if you walk a little more to get to the beach but have a hotel that has actually heard of customer service.

gregoryolney's Profile Photo

Super Hotel - Super Location !!

Best (5.0 of 5.0 stars)
by written on June 15, 2006

Great Hotel, newly refurbished (in 2005), clean, spacious, just across the road from their private beach. Didn't try the restaurant as there are so many eating places within 2 minutes walk. Ideal location and classy !!

Directions: 100 yards from the Cours Saleya and just across the road from the beach.

londonbabe's Profile Photo

Don't pay full rate!

Good (3.0 of 5.0 stars)
by written on April 27, 2005

Usually, the notice with the rack rate is on the back of the door in your room. Not at the BR - it's hidden in the wardrobe. Why? Because apparently the full rate for a small-ish double room, EXCLUDING breakfast, is 540 euro a night. NUTS! We booked through a friend in the trade, and so paid about 140 euro, including breakfast (40 euro for 2 if you don't have an inclusive rate ..).
The rooms are very nice, I must say. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. There's a flat screen TV with internet. There's a free bottle of red wine and a bottle of Evian. But we didn't drink these on our first night, and they disappeared on the second day - rule is obviously use it or lose it!
Bathroom is a reasonable size with a large bath, and nice range of smellies.
(There was a notice saying you could buy the fluffy bathrobe for 60 euro .. but no fluffy bathrobe. Must have been for the even more expensive rooms.)
The location is excellent, right on Promenade des Anglais and at the foot of the old town.
Its main selling point is the private beach (which you have to pay to get into, even as a guest, of course) but as the weather was totally grey and rainy when we were there, I can't comment on the comfort levels of the sun loungers.
Breakfast is nothing special - bread, pastries, processed cheese, ham, cereals. If you don't have an inclusive rate, go out and find a cafe.
Hint: to get the window blind to come down, press the buttons in the side of the bed's headboard.

Motzl's Profile Photo

Beau Rivage

by written on September 7, 2002

Single room: 650 to 1800 Francs (Approx. 99 to 274 Euro).
Double room: 650 to 1800 Francs (Approx. 99 to 274 Euro).
Breakfast: 95 Francs (Approx. 14 Euro).
Full board supplement: 280 Francs (Approx. 42 Euro).
Half board supplement: 140 Francs (Approx. 21 Euro).

Nearby Hotel Beau Rivage

Hotel Beau Rivage

We've found that other people looking for this hotel also know it by these names:

  • Beau Rivage Nice
  • Resort Beau Rivage

Address: 24 rue Saint Francois de Paule, Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, 06300, France

2 Photos of Hotel Beau Rivage

View Professional Photos

Amenities at Hotel Beau Rivage

  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Business Services
  • Suites
  • Bar / Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet

Nice Travel Forum

Need advice about Nice, France? Visit the Travel Forum for Nice and ask our Answer Gurus.

Latest Nice hotel reviews

Hotel Negresco
9 Reviews
Le Meridien Nice
Great (4.0 out of 5.0) 6 Reviews
Boscolo Hotel Atlantic
1 Review
Hotel Suisse
Best (5.0 out of 5.0) 6 Reviews
Hotel Felix
Pleasant (2.5 out of 5.0) 3 Reviews
Comfort Hotel Boreal
Excellent (4.5 out of 5.0) 6 Reviews
Hotel Brice
Very Good (3.5 out of 5.0) 4 Reviews
Palais de la Mediterranee
Excellent (4.5 out of 5.0) 2 Reviews
Premier Hotel West End
Good (3.0 out of 5.0) 3 Reviews
 
Explore Deeper into Nice
Parc de la Colline du Château
Things to Do
Cours Saleya
Things to Do
Russian Orthodox Cathedral
Things to Do
Place Massena
Things to Do
Carnival
Things to Do
Chagall Museum
Things to Do
Tourists
Warnings and Dangers
Lou Pilha Leva
Restaurants
Chez Rene Socca
Restaurants
Hippopotamus
Restaurants
Saf Saf
Restaurants
Le Chantecler, Hotel Negresco
Restaurants
Dog Droppings
Warnings and Dangers
Zen Restaurant
Restaurants
Local Music
Local Customs
Pétanque
Local Customs
Russian itinerary – Vladimir Golenishchev
Things to Do
Nice's beach!
Things to Do
The harbour of old Nice
Things to Do
Excellent French Gourmet food
Restaurants
Nice Opera is hot
Warnings and Dangers
Great service and excellent food but pricey
Restaurants
Their specialty: braised meats
Restaurants
Un-romantic place but serves good salad
Restaurants
Warning for Solo Female travellers
Warnings and Dangers
Heritage Days
Local Customs
SOS Train des Merveilles!!!
Warnings and Dangers
Permanent renovation
Warnings and Dangers
Nice accessibility
Local Customs
New Nice Fountains
Local Customs
(Ve)Nice Guitar
Local Customs
Drunk men at Promenade du Paillon
Warnings and Dangers
Old Nice Fountains
Local Customs
Toujours en grève
Local Customs
Listen to the Sound of Waves!
Things to Do
Be very careful at taxi to the old town area
Things to Do
One day Cannes-Grasse & five trains
Things to Do
Russian cathedral - interior
Things to Do
Russian cathedral - Holy Gates
Things to Do
Perfume
Shopping