Bella Maris

5 out of 5 stars5 Stars

Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete, 70014, Greece
Bella Beach Hotel
Enter dates for best prices
Compare best prices from top travel partners


Satisfaction Excellent
Very Good

Value Score Average Value

Similarly priced and rated as other 5 star hotels

Show Prices

Good For Families
  • Families79
  • Couples77
  • Solo60
  • Business66

More about Bella Maris

All inclusive......not too sure about that...

by TripAdvisor Member Ashmount10

We stayed all inclusive at the Aquis Bella Beach for a week with our daughter and her fiance. I usually never go in the pool BUT this pool was to die for....and empty everyday.

The animation team worked hard although mostly in French. The rendition from one of the girls in the animation team of 'Mein Heir' from Cabaret was superb and very professional!

We had an excellent room with regard to the decor. We had a wonderful sea view and we hadn't asked to be upgraded so we were delighted, (although it would have been a nice touch if there had been tea making facilities) as EVERY cup of tea you have in the restaurant is given to you with a tea bag by the side of pot of warm water, as you poured the water onto the tea bag it didn't even change colour, sorry but that is not the way English people have their tea.

The food was ok, nothing special and it seemed like the same food every day with a couple of new dishes added. The manager of the hotel was the best dish I saw!!
My pork burger was pink in the middle and so I took it back to the chef and asked politely if he could cook it for a bit longer, but he was not impressed and I felt very awkward. The eggs yolks were stone cold every day and the bacon warm.

We were a bit disappointed that when we sat on the beach, we had to walk from the beach back to the hotel to get a drink of water every time. The beach bar was closed for refurbishment. We were only given a small cup of water each time. We understand that things need to be improved but there was NO WAY that they would give you a bottle of water unless you paid for it. ( and we were a party of four) I think that considering the circumstances with the beach bar being closed exceptions could have been made.

We left to go home the evening of a big party they had there, we were not allowed to use the pool and the sun beds were taken away which was a bit tedious as we had to check out at 12 midday.

The red flag was up on the beach every day so we could not swim but it didn't stop parents dragging their children in there to swim with them, talk about learning from example! We felt very sorry for the lifeguard who did an excellent job!

The all inclusive drinks were VERY limited, we counted about 14 drinks out of 134 that we could have without payment, mind you if you did pay for your drinks if you were not all inclusive you got olives and crisps as well, it did make us feel like we were second class citizens.

All in all it was a ok holiday but I would not go back again,........... unless the manager asked me to personally....and after this review I don't think he will ;-)

Awesome Holiday- Greek interpretation of 5 star...

by TripAdvisor Member SamClaire229

Arrived late and warm greeting by hotel manager after an "adventure" of a taxi journey (Many drivers apparently unaware of hotel name change- made various stops before asking another driver to point the way). We were taken to our room to find bottled water, wine and plates of cold food in the fridge- a nice touch after a lengthy journey!. The room itself was very impressive- large, clean with a king size bed. Standard furnishings in the bedroom, and a clean and spacious modern bathroom (Shower gel and other accessories were supplied by the hotel). Behind 2 large sliding doors was our balcony- large with a great pool view and sea view. Rooms were kept very clean, maid service every day with the option to change towels every day. Air Conditioning made sleeping much easier. One dissappointment was that the safe was not available upon arrival, and we later found out that they charged just under 4 euros per night for the priveledge! However we simply coped by locking away valuables in a suitcase.

As a younger english couple, we found that there was not alot on offer in terms of activities, as the nearest town was not within walking distance, save for a couple of bars and supermarkets along the road nearby. We found that the Havana Cocktail Bar was by far the best of the local bars- the Barman actually knew what he was making! However the prices were still high all over the place. Being an All Inclusive guest, we expected a fair amount more in terms of entertainment and activities in the hotel grounds, however, there was only activities for the french. All the entertainment reps were french and it was clear that the french were prioritised at the hotel. Evening entertainment was all in french. Some acts were enjoyable when language difference was not an issue, however, on the whole, we felt very left out and very much the minority at the hotel. Also, the variety of activties during the day were centred around the children- one in particular required the WHOLE of the shallow half of the pool to be cornered off for a handball game, during which my girlfriend and I were forced to dodge flying balls or even get hit by them whilst trying to relax, only to have a horde of french and spanish kids squealing for their ball back- no apology? This was not the organisation and style of a 5 star hotel. HOWEVER, we felt it was necessary to highlight the amount of effort that the french reps put into their shows and activities throughout the day.

In terms of facilities, there was direct access to a private beach for hotel guests only, with towels provided (unlimited changes), a friendly lifeguard, and a selection of pedalos, canoes and small boats and rafts supplied free of charge. (life jackets supplied as well). The beach itself is made up of coarse sand, and the sea itself was clear with rocks e.t.c for snorkelling and swimming. In terms of the hotel facilties itself, there was only one main pool, which was very clean and tidy, with a reasonable amount of sunbeds and parasols available. A small childrens pool is also provided. There was a mini golf area available, but... it was in a poor condition and probably not even worth the mention. Our best days were spent outside the hotel grounds, such as renting a quad bike and driving through Hersonissos and Malia (rental site a couple of minutes away from hotel). The Quad Bikes were reasonably priced at 20 euros for 4 hours rental, plus the option of 5 euros on top for a tank of fuel. We were able to find a great cove with a sandy beach and perfect water, so definately worth the journey! Another acitivity was a glass bottom boat tour that started in Hersonissos and took us to a cove for diving- vey nice at only 15 euros per person! The tour itself was organised through the Havana Bar.

There are 2 Bars and 2 Restaurants at Aquis Bella Beach. The main bar located near the pool and reception gave/sold cold drinks throughout the day- only to stop at 11pm, which was a nuisance. The bar staff were usually good, however certain individuals were unable to pour a pint properly- despite many british guests complaining! Drinks are provided in either glasses- for drinking on the patio outside or in the bar itself, or in small plastic cups for the pool- which meant that you needed at least 2 cups to have a proper drink! The selection for All Inclusive was a bit basic- draught beer (actually a nice tasting beer!) and 4 cocktails, with a few local spirits. However, the main concern was that All Inclusive guests were unable to obtain bottled water on the All Inclusive option, which meant that water could only be obtained through meal times.

The food itself was fairly diverse. There was always a standard selection of salad, meats, pasta and fruits and yoghurt to be had, and each night there was a different main choice, such as fishes or even chinese themed nights. The only complaint with the food, was more with the service. The buffet was often messy and tables were not made up, which meant that you had to wait to eat.

Overall the hotel met our needs in providing a relaxing all inclusive break, but the lack of entertainment for the english reduced from the overall experience.

We had an lovely Luxurious stay at this very special Hotel

by TripAdvisor Member dawnJersey

This hotel is in a lovely location by the beach in Crete. What makes it very special is the caring and very attentive management and staff - who give you a very warm welcome upon arrival and during your holiday.
It offers something for everyone and we especially enjoyed the leisure activities - swimming pool, tennis, crazy golf, to name but a few.
This hotel also takes care to cook you Real Cretian food rather than just the british version which so many hotel often serve up these days! As a vegetarian there was a great choice of food and the Fish dishes were exceptionally good great and without Bones!!
We really enjoyed our holiday and look forward to returning soon!

certainly NOT 5*!!!!!! worst holiday ever

by TripAdvisor Member astills99

we arrived to find the hotel was a lot smaller than we expected. we were taken to our room but complained as we had paid extra for a front sea room and this was a side sea room. this was rectified and the manager came to show us three alternative rooms which were a lot better. the view from our new room was lovely. all the entertainment was in French and this made it almost impossible to join in. 90% of the guests were French. our travel agent had not told us about this. also all inclusive does not really mean all inclusive with this hotel. at breakfast my partner asked for fresh orange juice and we were told this was not included in the all inclusive so he agreed to pay extra but we were shocked to find out that this was 7 Euros!!!! what a rip off. also water is not included either. the rooms were standard-but we had an ant infestation in the room, the fridge didn't work properly and we had problems with the air conditioning which wasn't properly resolved until the last day of our stay. the resort has recently been taken over by Aquis Resorts. because of this there was a big party being held for all the Aquis managers and staff. the pool was out of bounds on that day whilst the area was prepared with ice sculptures, plasma t.v s and candles. later on that evening 300 guests arrived in suits and ball gowns for the party-again the area was out of bounds for all hotel guests!!! even though we are the customers who have paid to stay in the hotel!!!!! we were not even notified of this. the only reason we found out what was going on was because we asked the barman. in my opinion all guests should have received a letter through their doors notifying them of what was taking place and apologies for the inconvenience.
the main buffet restaurant was also terrible with a very poor selection of food. it was so bad that we chose to eat out almost every day. the chef at breakfast who made the eggs and pancakes was also a nightmare. my partner asked for a fried egg and the man seemed reluctant to make it. when he did eventually do it, he put the eggs in a pan swimming with oil and splashed a little oil over the top whilst they were partner asked for them to be turned over but he refused and simply tipped them into his plate with all the oil!!! my partner was disgusted and refused to take them and walked off. this issue was later resolved and we were given some fresh eggs after we complained to a waitress. the staff were friendly and view from our room was lovely. apart from that the holiday was awful. the worst we have been on and we will never be back to this hotel or Crete as the island too is very over priced!!!!!!!

One of the best hotels i have ever accomodated..........

by TripAdvisor Member zoi_papa

it was just perfect....clear rooms according to helpful and smily assistants makes you feel sooOoOoOoOoooo good.....!! The food was-also- very tasty.!!!with a big variaty of carefully cooked food ,each time you have a lunch at this hotel makes you feel so special..To sum up, the location was great-just ON the beach.....-and the prices are equivellant to the costumers' prospects.....It is clear that I recommend everyone to visit this hotel...(zoi + theo+adreas+rena)

This Is Not To Be Missed In Your Choice Of Hotels If Going To Crete

by TripAdvisor Member foxy99

Just got back from one of the best holidays ever, the hotel and the staff were of a very high standard, the rooms were clean and done every day and the hotel staff were all very friendly and made you feel welcome. The food and drink were great and although the hotel was full, you never felt crowded at the pool, as there was also a private beach as well with lifeguards to keep you right.

Just the Job !

by TripAdvisor Member OxfordDeborah

All we wanted was somewhere on the "beach, clean, good food, somewhere to chill" and yes ! that is exactly what we got ! Staff are fantastic ! lets be honest, service industry does not pay very well & sometimes this is reflected in their attitude, but not here, all the staff cannot do enough for you & all with a smile on their faces, from the waiting on staff up to the General manager. The food is very fresh, varied, something for everyone, they even had a special room with special crockery for children. This hotel caters for every age, honestly. Yes, the entertainment is french, but if there are english people there, they try & involve everyone translating as well as they can to english. You will not be disappointed in any way, we are so impressed with the place & the people we are going back in Sept this year. Thank you everyone there, for making our stay as "chilled" as possible. See you all soon.

This is not a 5 star all inclusive resort!

by TripAdvisor Member LBandDT

Just returned from one week at Bella Beach. We booked a 5 star all inclusive holiday (as have previously booked similar holidays) but could at best describe this resort as a good 4 star with full board. The "All Inclusive" was far from what was offered. There are too many time constraints and limitations on what you can and cannot have especially regarding the drinks. A fantastic drinks menu displayed at the bar, however, only a few have asterisks which are part of the All Inclusive! Of course, you can buy the other drinks but we thought the whole point of an All Inclusive resort was that you didn't pay for anything once there.

The rooms were basifunctional, clean and with good aircon. Each room has a small fridge, couldn't understand why as nothing in it! One very small bottle of warm water next to the TV when we arrived.

The resort is predominantly french, staff and holidaymakers, which leaves other nationalities fending for themselves. The entertainment one evening was Pictionery(!!!), 95% in french with the odd token english line thrown in. When you can't get a drink either because it's 11.05pm (All Inclusive finishes at 11pm), you start looking at your return flights home. The entertainment is mainly aimed at children and you are advised by the entertainment staff at 10.30pm to go to bed as it's late!!

We could not fault the resort for cleanliness, the pool area was kept immaculate and was located right on the beach.

The food was fantastic but just a shame you had to fill up as much as possible because of the time restrictions.

Finally, we must mention the barman George aka Poker Face - Legend!

A perfect break - we are going back for sure!

by TripAdvisor Member simonandmarie

My wife and I booked this holiday fairly last minute and were looking for somewhere near the beach and away from it all for a week's rest and relaxation. We are expecting our 3rd child in October and left the other 2 behind with grandparents to enjoy a week alone. When we saw the pictures of the hotel on booking we thought it looked and sounded awesome. So often when you actually see the place in the flesh there is something that has failed to be mentioned or pictured that leaves you feeling a bit let down... but not here, the hotel and location were absolutely fabulous. In fact the photos on the website don't do it justice. I had not been on an all inclusive holiday before so was not sure what to expect but again was very pleasantly surprised - food was excellent and staff so friendly. Having seen all that is laid on for the kids too we are now booking this place for next year with the little ones. They would love it! Yes, the entertainment is French and the guests are a mix of all nationalities but that just adds to the ambience - who wants a nasty Thomson/First Choice dominated hotel with the English all over the bar lapping up their beer "cos its free". Not us! Giorgos, the assistant manager was nothing short of brilliant and so helpful paricularly looking after my 6 month pregnant wife. It looks like Aquis are making improvements to the place also - they installed AC in the restaurant while we were there. The ONLY slight improvement we would recommend is to offer more outside areas to eat - we just love eating out watching the sun go down. Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone, as I say we will be back next year!

excellent holiday lovely hotel

by TripAdvisor Member elaineturton

we have never been to Crete before but would certainly go again and stay at this hotel.
The staff were helpful and friendly, the food was excellent with lots of choice.
Our room was spacious and comfortable.The maids cleaned every day, clean towels every day .Free air con too!! The position on the beach was lovely. There was never a fight for sunbeds and the pool was spotless.


Popular Hotels in Khersonisos

Bella Maris

Hotel Class 5 out of 5 stars

Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete, 70014, Greece

Show Prices

Sun Club Olympia

Thoukididou 3, Khersonisos

Show Prices

Flisvos Beach Hotel

25th Martiou, Hersonissos, Crete, 70014, Greece

Aldemar Cretan Village

Anissaras, Khersonisos

View all Khersonisos hotels

View all Khersonisos hotels

 Bella Maris

We've found that other people looking for this hotel also know it by these names:

Aquis Bella Beach Hersonissos
Aquis Bella Beach Hotel Hersonissos
Aquis Bella Beach Hotel Anissaras

Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete, 70014, Greece