The Kioutsouk Hassan Mosque or Giali Tzamissi
This is one of the most picturous views of Chania, you'll find it on most of Chania postards. For a reason...
'The mosque of Kioutsouk Hassan or Giali Tzamissi
It is the only mosque preserved in the city and dates back to the second half of the 17th century. It was erected in honour of Kioutsouk Hassan, the first garrison commander of Chania and after a research conducted by the 13th Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities, it has been discovered that there used to be a one-roomed temple in its current position. The mosque is a cubic-shaped building covered by a large hemispherical dome without a spandrel supported by four elaborate stone arches. At its western and northern part, it is surrounded by an arcade roofed by six small domes without a spandrel.
Initially the arcade was unroofed, as it was usually the case in mosques. Around 1880, the arcade was covered, while arch-shaped openings were added giving to it a strong neoclassical style. The temple Kioutsouk (small) Hassan or Giali Tzamissi (seaside mosque), as it was commonly called, a brilliant sample of Islamic art of the Renaissance was a work of an Armenian architect, who had constructed another similar mosque in 'Spaniako', a village in the county of 'Selino'. The mosque, in the yard of which there were palm trees and graves of pashas and janissaries, stopped operating in 1923 and today it is restored without the small and picturesque minaret demolished in 1920 (according to other sources in 1939). It has been occasionally used as an Archaeological Museum of Chania, a storehouse, a museum of folklore art, an Information Office of the Greek National Tourism Organisation (GNTO), while recently it has been used as an event and exhibition hall.'
Description copied from Chania.gr, awaiting authorization from webmaster and owner of the site.