Quality Hotel Nova Domus

3 out of 5 stars3 Stars

Via G. Savonarola 38, Rome, Lazio, 00195, Italy

3 Reviews

Quality Hotel Nova Domus
Enter dates for best prices
Compare best prices from top travel partners
Booking.com Expedia.com Orbitz.com

62%

Satisfaction Poor
Excellent
14%
37
Very Good
26%
65
Average
22%
55
Poor
17%
44
Terrible
19%
48

Value Score Average Value

Costs 23% less but rated 24% lower than other 3 star hotels

Show Prices

Good For Solo
  • Families43
  • Couples51
  • Solo53
  • Business37
  • Nova Domus good & Bad

    by

    We toured with a group of 60 people to Rome and the tour company put us up at the Nova Domus Hotel. It was just an average hotel for accommodations. We had a comfortable room but others were not so pleased with theirs. Some upkeep needed to be done. It was within walking distance of Vatican City, metro, and bus lines. The breakfast was pretty simple with breads, canned fruit, juices, eggs, and bacon. We had 3 dinners there at night and the food was not good at all. But with 60 people to feed is it good at any time. The staff was very helpful and courteous. It has a nice lobby.

    Unique Quality: Good location. Close to bus line, metro stations and the Vatican. Nice restaurants close.

  • aardvarkadvice's Profile Photo

    A Home from Home near the Vatican

    by

    great value for money hotel located 10 minute walk from the Vatican Museums which is one of the most incredible museums in the world. the rooms were immaculate, spacious and the reception staff were very jovial and helpful. Breakfast was ok for Italian standards and the lunch menu was varied and interesting. I would definitely stay here again.

    Unique Quality: breakfast terrace on first floor and relaxing bar with great cocktail barman.

    Directions: Vatican City and St Peters

  • jmhenry1123's Profile Photo

    Close to Vatican

    by

    Ample sized room for a single stay. The room had a queen size bed and a full bath. 300 m from a metro stop and close to the Vatican. Some rooms are more improved than others. A good stay for a visit to Rome.

    Special note: I did not independently choose this hotel, it was chosen for me as I was in a group tour.

    Unique Quality: Great views of St. Peter's Basilica from the fifth floor rooms. Try to request one of these rooms.

    Directions: Near the Cipro metro stop but hard to find on the standard tourist map

More about Quality Hotel Nova Domus

Must have stayed at a different hotel!

by TripAdvisor Member fordster

I'm glad I didn't see some of these other reviews before we stayed at this hotel. Whilst I'm not disputing what anybody else has said we had a totally different experience. I cannot praise this hotel enough. The staff were wonderful (and very friendly) and the service was superb.

We were on the second floor and were given a small suite (entrance on to sitting area with couch and TV which led through to bedroom). The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath, shower, hand basin and bidet. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. There was a smoke detector on the bedroom ceiling which had a hole to the side of it and one of the twin beds was a little creak (although comfortable enough) but that was the only scruffy part (and belive me I'm quite snobby about these things!).

The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the Vatican and only 5 minutes to the local bus stops to get into Rome itself. We never bothered with the Metro as the buses are very efficient and easy (the 492 is your best choice as it goes to or near everywhere you could want to go).

The food in the restaurant was very good and we ate there most nights. Breakfast was the usual buffet style and was good but nothing special.

Our flight was cancelled just before we were due to board and luckily the hotel had enough room for all of us to stay that night (there were 31 people in the tour group we went with). We got back to the hotel at 19:30 and they put on a 3 course meal at very short notice and even laid out a full breakfast (minus egg and bacon) at 5:00am the next morning before we got the coach back to the airport. You can't fault service like that! I will never stay anywhere else but the Hotel Nova Domus whenever I visit Rome (and I plan to quite often).

You get what you pay for and it's worth it

by A TripAdvisor Member

I visited the Nova Domus in the summer of July '04 for 7 days and was quite surprised with how decent it was after reading some reviews. The rooms are small and the decor is a tad tired, but I've stayed in a few European hotels and this place was amazing for the price. I didn't care for the breakfast buffet but loved dinner. The outdoor terrace is quite beautiful. Ended up eating a few meals there. The walk to the Vatican is more like 10 minutes but there are some great shops along the way if you look. I took various day tours (separate from the hotel) that picked up other travelers at their hotels before they started and realized that most hotels are far from the major sites and we were quite lucky to be staying that close to the Vatican and subway. I did not take any tours or do things suggested by hotel staff, rather I booked things on my own ahead of time and would suggest this to others as well. Although friendly, the staff seemed a little bit unhelpful resource-wise and appeared to only offer certain tours that they probably get a kickback from filling.

All in all I'd say the Nova Domus lived up to its ratings and was a real bargain. I'd reccommend it to anybody looking for decent (but not luxury) lodgings while visiting Rome.

Disappointed at first, however the hotel redeemed itself.

by TripAdvisor Member rcbaxter

A disappointing start to our short break, but the hotel responded positively to our requests for a room change. We checked-in later than anticipated due to a delayed flight. (Taxi from Campiano Airport at 50 Euros was considered a fair price by the receptionist) Although we had pre-booked I was worried that we may get the last room in the hotel ... and we did! The room on offer (Rm 220) was small and gloomy. Our first night was marred by a bathroom that flooded everytime we showered - mopping up the water at midnight is not my idea of 4 star hospitality. To make things worse we were awoken at 6.10am by music and radio chat from the breakfast room which was located below us. Other niggles we encountered were a warped cupboard door and a TV that offered bad reception, and tired decor. Note: there were no tea/coffee making facilities in our rooms.

We demanded another room for the remaining two nights of our stay and were offered a much better room - roomier, lighter, cleaner, spacious bathroom with shower. The remainder of our stay was pleasant. A tour guide who used the hotel mentioned to us that staff do their best to accommodate the needs of their residents - more so than other establishments. We found staff to be generally helpful and friendly; the receptionists were able to answer most of our queries about getting around and attractions. A good and varied breakfast was supplied, though hot food was limited to just scrambled eggs and crispy bacon.

Overall the neighbourhood seems quite decent , but it does seem that Rome suffers from an extraordinary amount of grafitti and rubbish which does spoil the ambience of the place.

In terms of location the Nova Domus is close to the Vatican (which we avoided due to the unprecendented crowds of mourners/spectators in Rome as the Pope was lying-in-state at St Peter's Basilica). However the Vatican Museums (incl the Sistine Chapel) were open and are literally five minutes walk from the hotel. Also convenient is the Metro (Cipro Musei Vaticani - Line A) which is about 10 minutes walk. This made it easy to get into the very centre of the city within minutes and was a bonus for a short stay. There are plenty of places to eat or shop nearby as well as a bustling market along the Via Andrea Doria.

We plan to return to Rome to visit the Vatican and would contemplate staying at this hotel, however now know that not all the rooms are brilliant.

Hotel fine, location depends

by TripAdvisor Member Vancboys

We stayed 6 days in the family suite room with 4 adults. Our first trip to Europe, so we were not experienced. If you can handle your luggage I would recomend taking the train from the airport to the train station, then the subway to your hotel. We took the train from the airport, but a taxi from the train station. The que line from the train station for a taxi took forever. A little different than in most US cities where a taxi is hailed. Since the que line was recomended for a taxi in our guide books, we waited in line. The line is long and is run by a woman at the head of the line. I dont think she worked for the station or a taxi company. Her job was to get the number in your party,hail the appropriate size taxi then help you with your luggage (strong woman!) and does so for tips. She does however keep people from taking a taxi out of turn

Our hotel room was nicer than expected, average size sitting room with table chairs, sofa and chair, bedroom and good size marble bath. The bedroom double bed was very comfortable,however the 2 single sofa beds were fairly skinny by american standards. Another factor in the sofa beds was the inability to control the heat in the room. We had to sleep with the window open to stay cool. Sleeping was difficult due to the usual traffic noise and sirens typical in a city. We contacted the desk but the problem was not solved. Luckily it was cool when we were there, so the room could be cooled somewhat. Heat in the bedroom worked fine. The front desk was however very helpful on an excursion we took to Pompeii. The bus tour we took made a pickup at your hotel, but was too early to make our included breakfast. I called the front desk to inquire on lunches. They made all of us sack lunches that worked out very well on our tour. The tour included lunch but not breakfast.

Also a note on our stupidity on the hotel elevator. The small elevators are for 4 people at the most. We were exhausted by arrival and were starving by the time we reached our hotel by evening. We were minutes from missing the closing time of the hotel restaurant. So 6 of us crammed into the elevator at the end of our hall. (not the main hotel elevators) since it said to restaurant. It jammed between floors and wouldnt move. It had an emergency button that we pressed, heard a little buzz, but never an answer. Being packed like sardines the temperature quickily rose inside with no escape hatch. We pryed open the inner doors which gave a little air circulation from the shaft. Luckily someone in one of the hotel rooms, heard our cries for help and made the hotel desk aware of our situation. The desk however was not experienced at opening the outer doors until another guest suggested some sort of key to unlock the outer doors. They left to rummage the front desk while cracking open the outer door with a ladder to allow us a little more air. It was then the elevator shifted down crunching the ladder until it had to be removed. By the time the outer door was open it had dropped to waist level. It was a challenge at getting out but using myself as a step for others, made our escape. We finally made it out, imbarrassed by our stupidity. We walked to dinner (pizzeria, kinda smokey and sooty due to ovens used to cook them) food was ok. The area kind of reminded me of a more business industrial area. Closed up early in the evening, except a few businesses. Great for the Vatican but other areas more closer to spanish steps or similar,were more set up with restaurants and shops open later for tourists.

We learned a dangerous lesson and mostly took the stairs from then on or a few of us at a time in the main lobby elevators. All in all had a good time after learning our lessons. This was just one of many.

noisy staff

by A TripAdvisor Member

stayed here week after pope's burial.

don't stay on first floor. kitchen staff have no respect for guests. From 6.30 am they talk loudly and make mucho noise while preparing breakfast.

also, on the morning of departure, room cleaning staff opened door TWICE at 8.05 am and 8.10 am.despite being told to go away the first time.

Great staff, terrible hotel

by TripAdvisor Member Shutter_Bug

Our first night in this hotel started off well enough. The fifth floor room appeared newly renovated and spotlessly clean. However at 6 am we were awakened by the sound of the very noisy dining room elevator. It sounded like it was grinding on something inside our room. When we requested another room we were moved to the very dark second floor into a room that can only be described as moldy. There were layers of mold on all of the walls and the ceiling. My husband and I don't have really high standards for hotels, but this disgusted us. The bed (two twin beds pushed together) was terribly uncomfortable and we both had trouble sleeping. It was also possible for us to hear everything from other guest rooms through the paper-thin walls. We could hear every spoken word, teeth being brushed, shavers running and other, more personal, sounds. Honestly, how did this place earn a four star rating?

The breakfast was alright, although the dining room staff played the radio very loudly. Even though the weather was nice for a couple days the terrace remained closed.

The location is not as advertised. It's actually a 10-20 min walk to the metro and the St. Peter's Square...although the Vatican museums are much closer. It may sound convenient to take the subway to the hotel from the train station, however you must realize the escalators and elevators often don't work. It is not easy to carry your luggage up or down multiple flights of stairs during the morning/evening rush. There were also very few restaurants nearby. The ones we stopped at were alright, but not spectacular.

The only redeeming feature of this hotel was the front desk staff (especially Bruno). All were multi-lingual and took the time to at least listen to our complaints and try to help us out. Of course there were no spare rooms due to the influx of pilgrims for the Papal Funeral. However this does not excuse the horrible condition of the rooms in which we stayed.

I cannot recommend this hotel and will certainly never return.

Forum Posts

Hotel for Family of Four in Rome

by dcrose

Can anyone recommend a well located, clean, hotel in Rome that will take a family of four (two young children) in one room? Thank you.

Re: Hotel for Family of Four in Rome

by david_stevens

hi there, i suggest the hotel nova domus which has family suites. the hotel is located in the vatican area of Rome and is well connected for quick and easy access to all of Rome's most popular attractions.

Re: Hotel for Family of Four in Rome

by abarbieri

It is important to know when you are going to be here and how much you are "willing" to spend.Also some more information about your expectations would help to give a better advice.For example:
Is air conditioning essential??
What about Room service and a TV set in Room??
Hotel Hassler is a 5 star Hotel, very well located(Top of the Spanish Steps), clean and would take a family of four in one room.It would be a junior Suite that in high season(from March to June) will cost about 1000 euro per night.
Don't be upset!! This is a suggestion for all VT members asking for Hotel advice.Let me have more details and I will be very happy to help.
A taxi from Ciampino airport to the City Center sholud be about 50 euro including the luggage charge.Make sure you get a legal one.It must be white, Taxi sign on the top with a meter inside switched on.

Comments

Popular Hotels in Rome

Albergo Del Senato

Hotel Class 3.5 out of 5 stars 4 Reviews

Piazza della Rotonda 73, Rome

Show Prices

Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Hotel Class 3 out of 5 stars 6 Reviews

Vicolo del Piede 2, Rome

Show Prices

Barocco

Hotel Class 4 out of 5 stars 2 Reviews

Piazza Barberini 9, Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, Rome

Show Prices

Hotel Golden

2 Reviews

Via Marche 84, Rome

Show Prices

View all Rome hotels

View all Rome hotels

Latest Rome hotel reviews

Aldrovandi Palace
462 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 17, 2014
Quirinale Hotel Rome
802 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 20, 2014
Cascina Palace
35 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 17, 2014
Villa Montemario
3 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jun 23, 2013
Welcome Residences
654 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 19, 2014
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
527 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 22, 2014
Hotel Diana
453 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 22, 2014
Hotel Pisana Palace
85 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 20, 2014
Exedra - A Boscolo Luxury Hotel
824 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 20, 2014
Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci
61 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jun 13, 2014
Hotel Sonya
645 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 20, 2014
Hotel Parlamento
458 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 22, 2014
Albergo Del Senato
1860 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 22, 2014
Hiberia Hotel
339 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 16, 2014
Domina Roma Capannelle Hotel & Conference Rome
309 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 22, 2014

 Quality Hotel Nova Domus

We've found that other people looking for this hotel also know it by these names:

Quality Hotel Rome
Quality Inn Rome

Address: Via G. Savonarola 38, Rome, Lazio, 00195, Italy