Novotel London Tower Bridge

3 out of 5 stars3 Stars

10 Pepys Street, London, EC3N 2NR, United Kingdom

3 Reviews

Novotel London Tower Bridge
Enter dates for best prices
Compare best prices from top travel partners
Hotels.com Novotel Priceline.com

94%

Satisfaction Excellent
Excellent
40%
323
Very Good
41%
332
Average
13%
109
Poor
3%
29
Terrible
1%
11

Value Score Average Value

Rated 15% higher but also costs 124% more than other 3 star hotels

Show Prices

Good For Families
  • Families92
  • Couples89
  • Solo68
  • Business69
  • Djinn76's Profile Photo

    Great hotel in a nice area

    by

    I was willing to try another area in London center and, for once, the rate for this Novotel was relatively affordable. That was definitely a good move. Located close to Tower bridge (Tower Hill tube station), this is very close from the City and not too far from Bricklane if you fancy some Indian food. If you prefer not to go that far, the area around really looked lively.
    The hotel itself is really nice as well, a big and modern lobby, courteous clerks. a very nice start!
    Apparently a floor of the hotel was being refurbished. I got upgraded to an executive room freshly refurbished as well.
    The room was really huge according to London standards. It was also pretty well decorated, even if some of the furniture are the classical Novotel ones, the overall atmosphere was great!
    The bathroom was quite impressive. No bathtub but a great shower!
    No time to taste the breakfast...

    Directions: close to tower bridge

  • SurfaceTravel's Profile Photo

    a good hotel in the heart of the business district

    by

    I stayed here for a few days on business. The location is perfect for this, steps away from most places in London "City", the financial district. You alway know what you'll get with Novotel, as they are consistent with their standards around the globe. I would compare this chain to America's holiday Inn; you know what you get.

    Service was good, the rooms small but clean, modern, and bright, and the lobby and bar are good quiet places to hold meetings. The breakfast buffet is excellent.

    If sticking to this price range in this part of London, I would stay there again. If I had a higher budget, I might try The Grange hotel across the road.

  • RhineRoll's Profile Photo

    A Decent Hotel in an Excellent Location

    by

    Booking a room at the Novotel London Tower Bridge turned out to be a very good choice throughout. The hotel offers very good accommodation without becoming totally unaffordable -- at least when you take advantage of their internet rates. I got a room for GBP 89 breakfast buffet included. The room itself was comfortable, offering very good disabled access. Very good breakfast buffet, good service, just as a hotel should be like. Especially as I have stayed here three times now and am also getting more experiences with other hotels in London, this hotel does stand out a bit. A sure recommendation.

    Unique Quality: The hotel's location is probably its biggest asset. It is just a stone's throw away from the London Tower and Fenchurch Street railway station. Liverpool Street station is still within walking distance. The West End is easily reached by tube or the Nr. 15 bus (wheelchair users).

More about Novotel London Tower Bridge

Clean, but not a good night's sleep

by TripAdvisor Member Trudetravel

We have just returned from a two-night stay at the Novotel London Tower Bridge. We booked this hotel based on reviews from this website and the price we were able to obtain for two rooms for two nights. (84 GBP per room, per night - $585.00 US total) The hotel's website and our booking confirmation stated that we could check in at 12:00 noon and after. We showed up at the hotel at 11:55 am only to be told that there were no rooms available. (After having been traveling since 5:30 that morning!) We were also told to come back in two hours. The desk personnel did not seem sorry for the inconvenience and were not at all apologetic. Not a very service-oriented attitude. (A smile would have gone a long way here) We were, however, able to check our bags until we checked-in at 2:00.

The hotel rooms were very clean and were pretty much as expected and previously described on this website. However, after reporting that our room was overly warm we were told that the "air-conditioning was not working" by the desk staff. The windows do open and we were able to air the rooms out somewhat, but the outside street noise was far too loud for the windows to remain open while we slept. Needless to say, the room became stiflingly hot overnight. To add to the discomfort, the sheets were the most uncomfortable sheets we have ever experienced at a hotel! They were extremely rough and seemed not to fit the beds properly and slipped out of position. A very heavy and lumpy duvet was on top and there was no topsheet. The mattress itself was fine. The fold-out couch bed was not too bad, but was far too small for two children over the age of 7 or 8 to sleep in together. There would have been no room for an additional cot unless you put it in the hallway in front of the bathroom door and the door to the hallway. Not a safe or convenient place for an obstacle. We certainly did not come to London to hang around a hotel room. We came to see the sights and hopefully get a good nights sleep after a full day of sightseeing. This is where the Novotel London Tower Bridge fails - a hotel should offer a comfortable's night sleep. An overly hot room and stiff, scratchy sheets do not make for a comfortable night's sleep!

The bathroom was immaculate and the towels were plentiful. The room was very well cleaned while we were out. The shower was hot and the water pressure was fine.

The buffet was ok. The price of the buffet is free for up to two children sharing their parents room. The adult price is $13.50 - roughly $25.00 US. There is no way that buffet is worth $25.00!!! By 10:00 am the hot items were no longer hot, just lukewarm. The cold items were better. Plenty of choices of juice and loads of fresh fuit and some rolls. It was just very over-priced for what was available. The waiter did come to our table immediately and brought us hot chocolate and a carafe of coffee. There was no cream available. We ordered an omelete from room service one evening. It came quickly, tasted great and was not too over-priced. The waiter that came to our room was very gracious.

The location of the hotel is not central but is convenient to the Tower Hill tube stop and St. Katherine Docks (City Cruises line.) There is also just a short walk to the London Tower bus stop for one the double decker bus tours. If you were planning on spending a day or two in the city area at the London Tower and London Bridge area than this is a convenient place to stay. Prevoius reviewers thought the area was more quiet than other areas but with the windows open you can hear nothing but loud street noises and more than a few drunken revelers in the evenings.

We are planning another trip to London in the Fall. We would not stay here again.

Superb value - handy location

by TripAdvisor Member Phil_London

Booked as somewhere to crash on a Friday night through lastminute. Managed to get a queensize bed, sofa and view of Tower Bridge for just £79 (rack rate was £185)... it was number 441.

Very good size and superb value. Nice touches such as tv sound is also piped into the bathroom. There's an ice machine on every floor which is also handy.

Only gripe was the staff. One guy offered to serve me in the bar and then walked off halfway through my order! Also had some minibar costs added to my bill despite having no access to it. Was eventually sorted out.

Good location for tourists with Tower Bridge nearby. I recommend the short walk to St. Katharine's dock for a really pleasant walk.

Decent Hotel

by A TripAdvisor Member

This hotel is a reasonable balance of value with clean, decent accommodations in a central location (short walk to Tower of London, Tower Bridge and Tube). Breakfast provided good choice. Room included tub and shower. (Toilet's in a small, separate room.) I've included pictures. Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights Feb/06. I booked at the hotel website where breakfast was included (worth 13.50 GBP per person). The room rate here changes depending on the day, going from 99 GBP on a Saturday to 219 GBP on a Thursday. You can do better than 219 GBP, so we moved hotels on Tuesday to explore a new area. (To K+K Hotel George in Earls Court, also a good hotel.) The Novotel restaurant/bar area is modern, attractive and the food and service was very good. Staff was polite, helpful.
Drawbacks to this hotel - smoke in lobby and bar was very strong most times (laws to prohibit smoking in public areas expected summer 2007), high rates mid-week, area is not good for evening strolls to restaurants or pubs. It's the financial district, everything is closed on weekends (pubs, restaurants, delis, markets) and there are no grocery/convenience stores, and few restaurants, nearby. I don't know if I'd stay here for a whole week with a family.

Loved it!

by A TripAdvisor Member

My now husband proposed here while we stayed here. Breakfasts were plentiful with good choice, the salmon my favourite.
Bar was quiet but very inviting.
Hotel was well located, and staff friendly.
Hope to return soon.

Very happy with our stay

by TripAdvisor Member travelhoppy

This was a late booking for a family of four and we were very happy with the accommodation. Room was adequate for us, beds were comfortable, bath and shower and separate toilet all clean.
I agree with another reviewer that it was perhaps a bit warm at night.
The breakfast was plentiful and varied and the restaurant surroundings were pleasant. Everything was clean and staff were friendly and efficient.

We ate once in the restaurant and it was fine.
It was well located by the Tower Hill tube and I would be happy to stay there again.
I would recommend this hotel for a family staying in London and seeing the sights.

Great for families

by TripAdvisor Member BuilderMom

This was our first family trip to London and were looking for a family friendly hotel that was located near attractions and transportation. This hotel is in what seems like an old building, however, upon entering, it is totally new on the inside. The loby is roomy, a small bar area, and small cafe. There is a cute little play area with play station and building blocks for children. The rooms are small but efficient with their space. We had two adults, seven year old, and a two year old and had plenty of room. The buffet was good and free for the children. The location was perfect. We were located at a tube station and across the street was a bus stop. There was a cute park for the children to run and play in behind at Trinity Square. Across the street is come kid friendly places to eat. We had a great experience and will use Novotel again across Europe.

Great hotel

by TripAdvisor Member alansgirl

We choose this hotel due to close proximity to a venue we were attending.
Hotel is 2min walk from Tower HIll tube station and located behind Trinity House.
Modern contemporary hotel. Found rooms to be clean, comfortable, great bathrooms, but air con was just OK. Temp that weekend was 30 degree plus (unusual for UK) and found corridors to rooms quite stuffy and warm. I'm not a fan of air con at night as light sleeper but was much needed. We were too late for breakfast, though reasonable at £13.50 each... 4/5* hotels in London normally charge £18.00 upwards. We ended up at JD Wetherspoons pub just along from Trinity Gardens and paid £1.99 for full english breakfast served til 12pm... a bargain in London ! I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay nr Tower area /Thames. We paid £79.00 for double room (room only prepaid rate) You can get river boat across to Greenwich or Westminster. Away from Tower of London, area is quiet. Sandwich bars/cafes all closed as mainly business location so busier during weekdays.

Comments

Popular Hotels in London

The Montague On The Gardens

Hotel Class 4.5 out of 5 stars 5 Reviews

15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, Covent Garden, London

Show Prices

Rosewood London

Hotel Class 5 out of 5 stars 7 Reviews

252 High Holborn, London

Show Prices

41 Hotel

Hotel Class 5 out of 5 stars 2 Reviews

41 Buckingham Palace Road, London

Show Prices

Milestone Hotel Kensington

Hotel Class 5 out of 5 stars 1 Review

1 Kensington Court, Kensington, London

Show Prices

View all London hotels

View all London hotels

Latest London hotel reviews

The Bloomsbury Hotel
1155 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 9, 2014
Tavistock Hotel
1005 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 8, 2014
Earl Percy Hotel
83 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jun 5, 2014
Grand Plaza Bayswater London
1531 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 5, 2014
Grange City Hotel
1252 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 7, 2014
Imperial Hotel London
780 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 9, 2014
F M C Christian Guest House
36 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 8, 2014
Sofitel St James London
1519 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 9, 2014
Hoxton Hotel London
2918 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 8, 2014
The Ritz Hotel
1169 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 8, 2014
DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria
165 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 8, 2014
Park Lane Sheraton Hotel
1771 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 8, 2014
Hilton London Paddington
1577 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 8, 2014
Chelsea Cloisters
286 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jun 30, 2014
Travelodge London Covent Garden
1308 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 9, 2014

 Novotel London Tower Bridge

We've found that other people looking for this hotel also know it by these names:

Novotel Tower Bridge
London Novotel
Novotel London Hotel Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge Hotel London

Address: 10 Pepys Street, London, EC3N 2NR, United Kingdom