The Majestic Hotel

4 out of 5 stars4 Stars

Ripon Road, Ripon Road Garage, Harrogate, Yorkshir
The Majestic Hotel
Enter dates for best prices
Compare best prices from top travel partners


Satisfaction Very Good
Very Good

Value Score Poor Value

Costs 28% more than similarly rated 4 star hotels

Show Prices

Good For Couples
  • Families71
  • Couples72
  • Solo58
  • Business52

More about The Majestic Hotel

In need of T.L.C.

by TripAdvisor Member MuchTravelledBolton

I stayed at this hotel with four friends in March, having previously only attended functions there. On arrival at lunchtine, all rooms with the exception of mine were ready. When I finally checked in I was disappointed to have been given a smoking room when I specifically asked for non. I rang reception who gave me three options. Option 1 was to open the window and spray some air freshner (not very effective as you can imagine), option 2 was a tiny, cramped single room across the corridor and option 3 was a standard room 2 floors up. I opted for the third and moved away from the rest of my party. The room had seen better days; paint falling off the radiator, shabby furniture, tired looking bathroom etc. My friends all agreed about the rooms, they have seen better days.
The public areas are very grand but I felt the hotel needs to invest in keeping the rest of the hotel in such impressive condition.
Breakfast was lovely!

Enjoyed our stay

by TripAdvisor Member derek coxall

Stayed here just for one night (Birthday treat) Not too bad, alot better than we had experienced at other Paramount hotels. Our room was quite spacious, it had been given a "face lift" but we felt it was not worthy of superior room class, it looked NOTHING like the picture in the brochure! Our double bed was actually two singles pushed together and the decor was very ordinary. My Husband did speak with reception but she assured him it was their definition of a superior room, she did offer another room but that was worse than the one we had already been given. On refusal of second room the receptionist apologised and gave us a free bottle of wine with dinner.

Dinner was very good-apart from the New Potatoes being straight from a tin-yuk.

Overall our stay was quite pleasurable but we will not be returning to The Majestic Hotel unless we are promised the room on their website.

Trading on Past Glories

by TripAdvisor Member jcuthb

This hotel is meant to be four star but the shine went a while ago. We booked a deluxe room 22-24 July and were so disappointed. The room temparture was over 30 degrees and we were told that we may not be able to get a fan as these were being used by other guests. To make matters worse there was no cold water in the bathroom so were expected to shower in hot water in this incredible heat. Reception then informed us that there would be a £4 charge for ice for the warm bottles of water they had kindly provided in the room! In addition, the decor in the room was tired, the paintwork was shabby and the bathroom ceiling had damp patches. When we asked to speak to the manager we were told that he was busy. He called eventually but refused to meet with us face to face, instead sending a trainee to our room.

All room service orders carry a £4 charge regardless of what you order and when we requested ice on the second night we were told that it now cost £5!! We called to request that the standard bottles of water be put in the room as normal (as it was still hot) and gave up waiting and went to the function we had booked for - we returned 6.5 hours later but still no water. At breakfast the coffee was stone cold and a replacement pot took 15 mins - just in time for us finishing our meal.

This hotel was clearly lovely in its hay-day but there has clearly been no investment in decor nor is there any interest in providing a 4-start service. We only stayed the second night because unfortunately all the other hotels in the area were fully booked. Never again!

The Charming Old Lady of Harrogate...Enjoyed every second

by TripAdvisor Member IWW

If you are used to staying in the best hotels and have a sense of history, if not more than a bit of sentiment running through your veins - this Hotel will NOT disappoint.

If you want blemish free, modern finishes then go find a 'boutique' hotel and enjoy yourself. The Majestic sails on 106 years after opening and will no doubt be around long after the fad hotels have gone.

On arrival the Hotel holds an imposing stature over Harrogate, I accept that the external features will need some TLC and refurbishment soon, but the decor inside has been kept up very well.

The staff are very attentive and friendly, the cosy oak panelled bar is a pleasant setting for late lunch (as we had on arrival) and a good bottle of wine to chat with loved ones and put the world to rights.

Our room, a deluxe suite, was fantastic and wonderful value the view from our balcony was lovely.

The inclusive dinner was very pleasant indeed, the dining room was well staffed and made for swift, yet well paced service.

Bear my opening comments in mind, then stay here and leave with a smile on your face, knowing you'll be back and that the old Majestic will be waiting for you...

not what we expected

by TripAdvisor Member tialindy

We booked the Majestic for my partner's birthday celebration at the end of July. We were so looking forward to the stay. We had been told on booking that there would be a marquee on the tennis courts so these would be out of use, but when we arrived on the Friday evening were suprised to see that the whole of the grounds were taken up by staging and marquees. We were even unable to walk through the grounds into town as contractors with JCBs etc were dismantling the staging all through the weekend. There was no discount on the price of the room at all for this inconvenience.The hotel was obviously full to capacity and the breakfast each morning involved either queuing to wait for any hot food to arrive or queuing along the corridor for over 15 mins to get a table on the Sunday morning. For a hotel that advertises itself as 4 star that sort of service is most unusual. We were also charged to park the car , over and above the cost of the room. Whilst I appreciate the cost of providing secure parking is expensive surely that cost could be'hidden' in the price you choose to pay for your stay.We have voiced our concerns to the hotel.


by TripAdvisor Member gasgas

For a four star hotel the rooms are a disgrace. The rooms are depressing and decorated with furniture that looks as if it has come from a second hand shop in the 1950's. A prison cell would be more comfortable. The £3 charge to use their car park is a disgrace. Time for a drastic facelift and change of management.

Expect the worst- you might be lucky and get a nice room

by TripAdvisor Member ljn26

What an awful hotel!
I stayed there over a weekend for a family wedding and was disgusted with the standard of the bedrooms.
We moved three times and only took the final bedroom due to there being no other rooms free.
One room the toilet flooded and the other 2 rooms could have done with a lick of paint or being completely refurbished.
Standard in rooms greatly varied as we saw the other rooms in the wedding party.
The location for the centre of Harrogate was great, but when booking do beware and don't expect 4 star standard in the hotel.
Breakfast was fine and so was the bar food.
It's a shame that the rooms were maintained to such a poor standard.

Comfortable Stay

by TripAdvisor Member CycleBelle

My husband and I stayed at the Majestic for a function, and were a little anxious at what we would find looking at previous comments. Our experience was very positive, the staff were always friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. We had a wonderful room, very spacious with ceiling to floor windows and the bed was very comfortable. The food was excellent, both at the function and at breakfast. We will be attending the same function next year and are really looking forward to staying at the Majestic again.

Past its sell-by date - disappointing...

by TripAdvisor Member AJSLondon

As with some of the other reviews we experienced a number of issues with our stay at The Majestic, and having read management responses to other comments, thought it may assist potential guests to know that some of the problems remain in early 2007.

We had a lunch and one nights accommodation, the lunch was very good and they catered for a big group extremely well - good food and service.

The room however left a lot to be desired. Whilst being a large room, it was very dated and tatty - examples include peeling wallpaper, rusting bath-taps and smelly shower curtains. The linen was old fashioned and the bed far from comfortable.

The hotel is also expensive for the standard of room accommodation - and you do still get charged a three pound car parking fee, and are also charged for your morning paper which both seem a little unusual nowadays. We were also billed for two breakfast that we did not have, and receveid no apology when we challenged this.

In short, great place for a lunch, but next year we'll go to a travelodge or B&B as I would imagine both would offer better accommodation at a much lower price!

Not 4 stars, more like 4 thumbs down

by TripAdvisor Member UKTravelerSheffield

As a regular visitor to Harroagate, was expecting a 4 star hotel, as have stayed at other recently refitted hotels in the area. This hotel while gorgeous from the outside and in an excellent location, it fell short of everything else. We paid for a 'Premium Room' which had been recently renovated. Our room was large but furnishings were mixed matched and everything had some form of stain on it. The bedding was old and ragged and the matress was very uncomformtable. The 'upgraded' ammenities were just neutrogena. Don't pay for a premium room. The hotel suffered from the recent weather problems but made no proper effort to clean up, a simple use of a wet vacuum would have elminated the puddles which were in the same place for 2 days after the rains had left. The old hotel is dated and doesn't not take advantage of it's historic charm. Overall it made a good weekend stressful.


Popular Hotels in Harrogate

Rudding Park Hotel & Golf

2 Reviews

Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate

Show Prices

Travelodge Harrogate

1 Review

The Ginnel Harrogate

Show Prices

Murray House

1 Review

67 Franklin Road, Harrogate

Show Prices

The Bijou

1 Review

17 Ripon Road, Harrogate

Show Prices

View all Harrogate hotels

View all Harrogate hotels

Latest Harrogate hotel reviews

Cairn Hotel
513 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 6, 2014
Saint George Hotel
562 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 6, 2014
Premier Inn Harrogate
377 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 3, 2014
The Pine Marten (Innkeeper's Lodge)
117 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 6, 2014
The Balmoral Hotel
508 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 6, 2014
The Yorkshire Hotel
764 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 6, 2014
Swallow Yorkshire
764 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 6, 2014
Old Swan Hotel
782 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 4, 2014
Kimberley Hotel
1103 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 7, 2014
Best Western Cedar Court Hotel
775 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 5, 2014
Ruskin Hotel
53 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jun 30, 2014
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
552 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 3, 2014
Harrogate Spa Hotel
764 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 6, 2014
Travelodge Harrogate
302 Reviews & Opinions
Latest: Jul 7, 2014

 The Majestic Hotel

We've found that other people looking for this hotel also know it by these names:

Majestic Hotel Harrogate
Barcelo Harrogate

Address: Ripon Road, Ripon Road Garage, Harrogate, Yorkshir