Houghton Bridge Turnpike
Storrington Balls Hut Turnpike Sign
Old wooden sign advertising the tolls which
were collected when they were payable by travellers
crossing Houghton Bridge. The wording covers
such unusual vehicles as berlins, chariots and landaus.
Church of St Nicholas
This 14th century church is unique in England, with its original interior divided in two. The town-accessed half is protestant: an iron-grille separates if from the catholic Fitzalan Chapel, what was the original Chancel and is now part of Arundel Castle.
The oldest relic in the church is the octagonal font, but the most impressive is the carved stone pulpit, believed to be the work of Henry Yvele, architect of the nave of Canterbury Cathedral. It is one of only six pre-reformation stone pulpits in the country.
The church and furnishings are a mix of ages - in addition to the font and pulpit, the remains of 14/15th century wall paintings can be seen. The organ is early 1800s, whilst the High Altar was commissioned and consecrated as recently as 2002.
The cemeteryof the church and many ancient headstones is on the 'town side' and runs down the side of the church and the West porch. The path leads to a wall, the other side of which is the castle grounds and entrance to the Fitzalan Chapel.
The iron grille behind the High Altar affords views into the Fitzalan Chapel and the opportunity (if desired) to take the photos denied when in the castle property itself (see separate tip).
Arundel,a beautiful market town with a big castle
Arundel is a short trip away from Bognor on the London train line,
or by car. This unique and historic market town is
dominated by the symbolic castle and the rising
spire of the town's cathedral, it nestles within a
southern spur of the W Sussex Downs.
Its uninterrupted views of glorious landscapes,
its unique plethora of craft
and antique shops as well as a diverse range of
restaurants, pubs and accommodation, all make Arundel
the perfect place for a day visit or a weekend away.
"The Forming of the Town of Arundel"
Arundel is a popular tourist destination famous for its Arundel Castle,
Arundel Farmers Market, Arundel Parish Church, Arundel Cathedral,
Blackfriars Historic buildings. In 2001 Arundel had its first market
for over 80 years in the form of a Farmers Market (IBP),
which is currently a popular monthly event.
There are traces of early Roman development in Arundel; however it mainly developed as a Saxon
town referred to in the Domesday Book in 1086, Arundel had become a flourishing market
town and port, with a population of a few hundred.
In 1243 Arundel Castle came to be owned by the Fitzalan family then at the
end of the 16th century the castle and Earldom was passed to the Duke of
Norfolk. The Dukes dominated Arundel for centuries and during that time
Arundel was a busy international port, with ships sailing to and from
Arundel via the river Arun to the sea 5 miles away. Arundel was also an
important market town and in 1285 it was granted an annual fair where people came
from a wide area to buy and sell.
In the mid 13th century the Dominican friars arrived giving Arundel its first religious building,
locally referred to as ‘Blackfriars, the ruins of which are located next to the Town Bridge. The
parish church of St Nicholas in Arundel was built in 1380. During the English Civil War Arundel
Castle changed hands three times and at the end of the war it was severely damaged and
reduced to a partial ruin, then at the end of the 18th century when it was rebuilt for the first time,
then at the end of the 19th century it was largely rebuilt again as it is today.
"The Forming of the Town of Arundel Cont."
Between the Civil War and the late 18th Century Arundel was in a very poor state, however by the
turn of the 19th Century it had become a small flourishing market town with a population a little under
1,900. During the 19th century Arundel grew considerably and by 1901 it had a population of over 3,000.
The current population is 3650. During the early 19th century Arundel was still a busy market town and port with two flourishing breweries and timber trade. Arundel Railway Station, in the present position, was built in 1863 when the line was extended down the Arun Valley.
In 1846 the Station at Ford was built along the railway along the coast from Brighton to Portsmouth, which was then known as "Arundel Station". As a result of which the port ceased to operate in the early 20th century as did the markets. Gaslight was first seen in the town in 1838 and electricity arrived during the 1930’s. In 1868 a new Catholic Church was commissioned by the 15th Duke of Norfolk and designed by a then famous architect Joseph Aloysius Hansom. This Catholic Church (IBP) was built of brick clad with Bath stone, in the French Gothic style and was completed 1873 and in 1965 it became a cathedral for the Roman Catholic diocese. In the early 19th Century some parts of the high levels of the town were lost when the Park was enclosed and the new London Road was constructed.