Double Helix Staircase at All Saints' Church
"Our Historic Church"
There is too much history to add here, hence please goto
History of All Saints' Church
We open the tower and staircase to the public on open days and at ad-hoc times.
A Brief Tower History
Please check out
Heritage at All Saints' Church Pontefract
for details of openings
"The unique Double Helix Staircase"
It is thought that there are only two such stair-cases in the British Isles name1y Tamworth Parish Church and All Saints' Pontefract.
There is probably another in Normandy.
Both churches came under the Duchy of Lancaster, and it may well be that the same architect and builder were responsible for the unusual design and construction.
The stair-case of All Saints’, having a single newal, has the internal access by a small doorway leading from the North wall of the recently extended Nave, while the external access is in the corner between the North Transept and the Nave, the latter being used regularly by the bell-ringers.
Both stairways lead up to the bell-ringers’chamber.
The internal access has only recently been restored consequent upon the new extensions constructed during 1966/67.
Formerly it was blocked up by rubble disposed of during the building of the Transepts and fore-shortened Nave and Chancel in 1832/and by the bellows of the Organ erected in 1937. The entrance was plastered over.
Originally, the stair-case led to the top of the octagonal lantern, 82 feet above the ground, but that part above the bell chamber has been replaced by a long stepladder. There were 99steps: 60 to the old l4th century bell chamber and 39 more to the lantern
THE DOUBLE SPIRAL STAIRCASE
"Town and Castle History"
Impossible to cover even briefly the history of Pontefract.
Hence please look at
Pontefract Castle and surrounding area - History