Hornby Island Hotels

Our Members Say

  • cragar69 profile photo cragar69
  • Reviews: 1

1 out of 5 starsUser Rating

Bradsdadsland: Beautiful campground, poor management!

Pro: Campsite is beautiful,playground.
Cons: Felt unwelcome by staff, RUDE,, unfriendly staff no people skills, fire wood is way over priced,poor beach access for kayaks or canoes.
I understand this campsite is a "Family Friendly" campsite and for great reason.But even if you abide by the rules and try to have fun it will overshadowed by old, out of touch staff who have no ability to talk you on a respectable level.I honestly will not take my family back to this campground, Based on the poor customer service alone.

Great View,

  • Opinion of Price: about average
  • Related to: Family Travel, Camping, Backpacking
  • Written June 10, 2013

Was this review helpful?

  • jay_timothy profile photo jay_timothy
  • Reviews: 1

1 out of 5 starsUser Rating

Bradsdadsland: Bradsdadsland poor customer service

Be sure about your dates! When we had to cancel our reservation they were rudely firm about not refunding the camp fee, dog fee, and booking fee. We were not allowed to apply it to another stay either.

  • Opinion of Price: N/A
  • Written August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful?

  • wbean profile photo wbean
  • Reviews: 1

1 out of 5 starsUser Rating

Bradsdadsland: Rude and discriminatory

Bradsdadsland was admittedly a lovely looking campsite with a nice ocean view and tree covered sites. The facilities were clean and nice, and included flush toilets and coin showers. However, I cannot be as complimentary about the management.

From the moment we tried to make a reservation, we were received very coldly simply because we were a group of adults who did not have children. We had decided not to stay at Tribune Bay because we had heard that there was a lot of drunkenness, and we really just wanted to relax and enjoy ourselves and be able to have a good night's rest. When we arrived to the site and went to pay, we were taking some time to divide up the cost among our group, and the male staff member mockingly asked if we had been to school. We are all university educated, by the way.

Then, when they asked if there were any more people joining our group the following day, we said that there might be another couple, but we were not sure. They grumpily answered, "Well, they better be coming because they asked enough questions!" We found out later that our friends had called to ask a few questions about the campsite and Hornby Island in general before coming. Apparently, that was pretty bothersome for the employees of Bradsdadsland. What kind of customer service is that?

Also, in the rules, it said that there was no music or talking after 11pm allowed. We didn't think they would be that strict about it if we kept the music really quiet, so we played some very quiet ambiance music that could not be heard outside of our campsite using an ipod. Even our neighbours right beside us confirmed they could not hear it. The next thing we know, at 8pm the male staff member was at our throats threatening to kick us out right then and there because we broke the rules. He did not ask us politely to turn it off, but treated us very roughly and with disrespect. We apologized, shut the music off, and never turned it on again. The next morning, we were told we were being kicked out. We were allowed no warnings. They kicked us out just like that.

We tried to contest this rash decision, and we were told that they did not want to argue with us. They had decided from the moment we reserved that they did not want us there, and they were going to look for any reason to kick us out. We told the female employee that we did not appreciate how rude they were to us and that they had terrible customer service and management skills. She then ran to the office and could be heard slamming the door and screaming "***!" very loudly. How very professional.

I would never stay at this place again. They were rude, discriminatory, and ignorant. They treated us like teenage kids when all of us were professionals and masters/phd students in our mid twenties to mid thirties.

  • Opinion of Price: more expensive than average
  • Related to: Camping
  • Written September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful?

  • Albernfrau profile photo Albernfrau
  • Reviews: 429

4 out of 5 starsUser Rating

Ford's Cove Cottages, Camping and Marina: Another Great Campground

Great campground - only 8 RV sites and some tenting sites, a few cottages too. One pay shower, two flush toilets but no sinks. One water tap for entire campground. Located at the end of a dead-end road so no traffic noise. Very quiet setting with the chickens in the coop and the crows and eagles above making the most noise! Amenities - well stocked general store and pizzeria. Beach access. Would definitely go back here again. Loved that it was only 5 min. drive to Tribune beaches and CO-OP.

  • Opinion of Price: about average
  • Related to: Beaches, Camping
  • Written July 5, 2009

Was this review helpful?

  • Albernfrau profile photo Albernfrau
  • Reviews: 429

5 out of 5 starsUser Rating

2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

Bradsdadsland Campsite: Great Campground

Although the Tribune Bay campsite is the most popular campsite on Hornby Island because it walks out onto a sand beach to me "Bradadsland" is the best as the low cliff it is set on overlooks the ocean and each site is extremely large and wide open to the sun. Camping spots are extremely private as they are separated by bushes and trees. The campground has a noise policy which is nice for those of us who like a good night's sleep. The campground is spotless and the caretaker's friendly

This has got to be the unique campground ever for one reason: The caretaker of this campground, Barefoot Ben was a man that lived at the campground every year, slept on a platform at the top of a tree and fed the eagles every morning at 7am and evening at 7pm. Please see my travelogue for more about this incredible man and the bald eagles.

  • Opinion of Price: about average
  • Related to: Camping, Beaches, Birdwatching
  • Written January 19, 2006
Tip Photo

Campsite

4 more images

Was this review helpful?

  • YolandaC profile photo YolandaC
  • Reviews: 104

4 out of 5 starsUser Rating

Seabreeze: Seabreeze

The Seabreeze is located on the east side of Hornby, opposite the ferry landing and facing the mainland. The rooms are either seperate cabins or attached rooms, all face the sea and are very private. The owners are friendly, but not invasive leading you to feel you truly are renting your own little cabin by the sea. Most cabins come with kitchenette and those that don't have coffee maker and fridge. A kitchenette would come in handy, mainly in the off season as not all dining establishments are open. We made due with a single bedroom and ate our meals picnic style, which really seemed to fit the rustic, wild feeling of the island.

The view is AMAZING, right on the ocean and all rooms face the sea. It's very private with a wonderful hot tub built into the side of a cliff overlooking the ocean.

  • Opinion of Price: more expensive than average
  • Related to: Beaches, Hiking and Walking
  • Written October 14, 2004
Tip Photo

Cabin on the beach at the seabreeze


Was this review helpful?

Write a Review

Sort by: Most recent | Most helpful

Instant Answers: Hornby Island

Get an instant answer from local experts and frequent travelers

99 travelers online now