Although the Tribune Bay campsite is the most popular campsite on Hornby Island because it walks out onto a sand beach to me "Bradadsland" is the best as the low cliff it is set on overlooks the ocean and each site is extremely large and wide open to the sun. Camping spots are extremely private as they are separated by bushes and trees. The campground has a noise policy which is nice for those of us who like a good night's sleep. The campground is spotless and the caretaker's friendly
This has got to be the unique campground ever for one reason: The caretaker of this campground, Barefoot Ben was a man that lived at the campground every year, slept on a platform at the top of a tree and fed the eagles every morning at 7am and evening at 7pm. Please see my travelogue for more about this incredible man and the bald eagles.
Be sure about your dates! When we had to cancel our reservation they were rudely firm about not refunding the camp fee, dog fee, and booking fee. We were not allowed to apply it to another stay either.
Great campground - only 8 RV sites and some tenting sites, a few cottages too. One pay shower, two flush toilets but no sinks. One water tap for entire campground. Located at the end of a dead-end road so no traffic noise. Very quiet setting with the chickens in the coop and the crows and eagles above making the most noise! Amenities - well stocked general store and pizzeria. Beach access. Would definitely go back here again. Loved that it was only 5 min. drive to Tribune beaches and CO-OP.
The Seabreeze is located on the east side of Hornby, opposite the ferry landing and facing the mainland. The rooms are either seperate cabins or attached rooms, all face the sea and are very private. The owners are friendly, but not invasive leading you to feel you truly are renting your own little cabin by the sea. Most cabins come with kitchenette and those that don't have coffee maker and fridge. A kitchenette would come in handy, mainly in the off season as not all dining establishments are open. We made due with a single bedroom and ate our meals picnic style, which really seemed to fit the rustic, wild feeling of the island.
The view is AMAZING, right on the ocean and all rooms face the sea. It's very private with a wonderful hot tub built into the side of a cliff overlooking the ocean.
Pro: Campsite is beautiful,playground.
Cons: Felt unwelcome by staff, RUDE,, unfriendly staff no people skills, fire wood is way over priced,poor beach access for kayaks or canoes.
I understand this campsite is a "Family Friendly" campsite and for great reason.But even if you abide by the rules and try to have fun it will overshadowed by old, out of touch staff who have no ability to talk you on a respectable level.I honestly will not take my family back to this campground, Based on the poor customer service alone.
Bradsdadsland was admittedly a lovely looking campsite with a nice ocean view and tree covered sites. The facilities were clean and nice, and included flush toilets and coin showers. However, I cannot be as complimentary about the management.
From the moment we tried to make a reservation, we were received very coldly simply because we were a group of adults who did not have children. We had decided not to stay at Tribune Bay because we had heard that there was a lot of drunkenness, and we really just wanted to relax and enjoy ourselves and be able to have a good night's rest. When we arrived to the site and went to pay, we were taking some time to divide up the cost among our group, and the male staff member mockingly asked if we had been to school. We are all university educated, by the way.
Then, when they asked if there were any more people joining our group the following day, we said that there might be another couple, but we were not sure. They grumpily answered, "Well, they better be coming because they asked enough questions!" We found out later that our friends had called to ask a few questions about the campsite and Hornby Island in general before coming. Apparently, that was pretty bothersome for the employees of Bradsdadsland. What kind of customer service is that?
Also, in the rules, it said that there was no music or talking after 11pm allowed. We didn't think they would be that strict about it if we kept the music really quiet, so we played some very quiet ambiance music that could not be heard outside of our campsite using an ipod. Even our neighbours right beside us confirmed they could not hear it. The next thing we know, at 8pm the male staff member was at our throats threatening to kick us out right then and there because we broke the rules. He did not ask us politely to turn it off, but treated us very roughly and with disrespect. We apologized, shut the music off, and never turned it on again. The next morning, we were told we were being kicked out. We were allowed no warnings. They kicked us out just like that.
We tried to contest this rash decision, and we were told that they did not want to argue with us. They had decided from the moment we reserved that they did not want us there, and they were going to look for any reason to kick us out. We told the female employee that we did not appreciate how rude they were to us and that they had terrible customer service and management skills. She then ran to the office and could be heard slamming the door and screaming "***!" very loudly. How very professional.
I would never stay at this place again. They were rude, discriminatory, and ignorant. They treated us like teenage kids when all of us were professionals and masters/phd students in our mid twenties to mid thirties.
Sort by: Most recent | Most helpful