(work in progress)
A quick trawl through any of the accommodation websites suggests that there's quite a lot of accommodation in Tofino, but much of it - especially in town - tends to be of the bed and breakfast (B&B) variety, and can book up quickly in season.
We stayed at the Adventure B&B, which is fairly centrally located, one street back from the main road and close to a surf school and the quay from which Jamie's Whaling operates. It is owned by Jens, a keen surfer, and offers three double rooms.
The accommodation is clean, pleasant and well equipped with an extremely laid back atmosphere. Just be aware that although two of the rooms are en suite, the third (which we were allocated) has its own bathroom, which is located down the passage.
The best thing about the B&B is the stunning view from the balcony which leads off the upstairs room where breakfast is served. It is utterly breathtaking - so long as the weather is clear enough to allow you to see it!
Breakfast is also excellent - a delicious mixture of fruit and yoghurt to start with, followed by tasty omelettes and toast and washed down with fruit juice and tea or coffee.
The owner and staff are friendly and very helpful - for instance, without their recommendation, we wouldn't have found out about the Thornton Creek Hatchery, where we had an amazing close encounter with a bear, and probably wouldn't have hiked the Lighthouse Loop of the Wild Pacific trail. It's worth bearing in mind that they can secure discounts on tours with some operators (we would have qualified for a 10% discount on a boat trip to Hot Springs Cove, had it not been cancelled due to bad weather), so perhaps enquire about this on your arrival.
"You must be kidding"
by Michael (from Vancouver, BC)
March 2012 - Waves End is a house on Chesterman Beach, Tofino BC rented by Tofino Vacation Rentals. It is not worth the money. It is overpriced for what you get and there are better values within a few feet of this property. For what you pay there is no beach access, because of all the logs which have been washed up and left in front of the property. Inside they have not bothered to do very much. One towel per person. One bar of soap. No candles and the power goes out regularly. The kitchen appliances are tired and worn out. The clothes dryer is so worn out it can not dry a couple of towels after four cycles! No gas for the barbecue. The list goes on.When questioned the Tofino Rental representative said it was just cosmetic stuff and that's the way it was. So sad too bad, was the attitude. Well no, that is not good enough for those prices. They do not understand anything about customer service. Shame on you and to all prospective renters be warned and shop around. There are much better values on Chesterman Beach than this rip off.
Good building, great location, terrible service from the rental company. Very poor considering the cost.
(+) Nice views (but most places in town have nice views)
(+) own kitchen
(+) parking available (yet always crowded)- my car was stuck behind 3 other cars
(-) Worst customer service I ever experienced; if you have any problem that will require a change (and I am not talking about a cancellation but a change of dates) in your reservation, there will be no-one you can talk to and you will be charged no matter what- this is a backpacker mill, quantity matters over quality.
(-) cleanliness is to be desired, our bed has sand in it.
(-) Very loud- a bit like a frathouse
(-) Staff professionalism is also low. The staff was non-knowledgeable, exhausted and not able to respond- it gave us contradictory answers regarding what we needed to do and even yelled at us. We had to email and wait for 4 days to get a response from the manager!
Conclusion: if you have a problem this hostel will not care. There are other hostels, hotels, guesthouses in town with similar prices, you can certainly do better and be treated right
Some parking available
Shared dorms and private rooms
This quaint cabin is located in Ucluelet (only 15-20 mins. from Tofino). It is perfect for a couple as there is just one queen bed. Pets are permitted for a $20 donation to the SPCA. This cabin is amazing. It is overlooking the ocean and is only a 30 sec. walk to a small beach. Resident river otters live on the dock nearby and a 2 min. walk away sea lions call another dock home. There is a 2 person jacuzzi tub on the sundeck so you can watch all of the wildlife as you bathe. You can also enjoy a bbq on the deck or cook inside and use the breakfast ingredients already stocked in the refridgerator. Fresh flowers hang in a vase on the wall and the electric fireplace makes the cute cabin even cosier. This place is a gem!
Nice hostel located (3 km) outside of town. Close to MacKenzie Beach (1 km).
Located within the Tofino Botanical Garden (a 12 acre site). Fire pit. Wi-Fi internet access.
Best hostel I've stayed at in Tofino. Reservations highly recommended from June to end of September.
Great view of the harbor from the living and dining room. Good size kitchen. An outdoor patio area with barbeque. A games room with pool table and foosball. Also a small tv room. Storage for surfboards, etc.
Less than 2 block from center of Tofino.
We decided to stay here because it was the cheapest but I would definately pay the extra money next time. The room was so disgustingly dirty, I was afraid to even sit on the bed. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in about a month (there was urine and feces on it that I had to clean off) and I'm not sure if the floor had ever been vacuumed. I had my 2 year old and 8 month old with me and I couldn't even let them down on the floor because I didn't know what they would put in their mouths. Don't ever, ever, ever stay here. This motel shouldn't even be allowed to be in business.
The hostel itself was very nice. Large kitchen with an eating area that overlooked the water. The rooms were very spacious although the staff, in my opinion, left something to be desired. Not a big deal, i just didn't find the staff to be very friendly, helpful or welcoming. Also the hostel was very loud depending on your room. People had a tendancy to stay up late drinking.
I stayed here for two night this past July. Very comfortable, en suite room. The hosts were very thoughtful and helpful - I decided not to rent a car (240 bucks for two days!!) so he picked me up at the airport and took me back too - he lent me a backpack for my day at the Hot Springs and in general they just took good care of me. I loved the hot tub and spent a lot of time in it!
Whales on the Point Guesthouse, or the Tofino Hostel is by far the nicest hostel that I have ever stayed in. It serves as a hostel and a guesthouse depending on your price range and comfort level.
HIGH SEASON: (May 1 to Sept. 30) Member Non-Member
Dorm Beds (4 to 6 person rooms) $24
(per person) $26
Private Dbl. Bed (1 or 2 persons) $70
(per room) $75
Private Dbl.& Single (1,2 or 3 persons) $80
(per room) $85
4 person room with two piece bathroom
(toilet & sink) $105
(per room) $115
5 person room with two piece bathroom
(toilet & sink) $115
(per room) $125
*15% tax to be added to above rates
**June 15 through Sept. 15 all 1 night bookings add $2 surcharge per person
LOW SEASON: (Oct 1 to April 30) Member Non-Member
Dorm (4 or 6 person rooms) $20
(per person) $22
Private Dbl. Bed (1 or 2 person) $45 - $50
(per room) $50 - $55
Private with Dbl. & Single (3 person) $60 - $65
(per room) $60 - $75
Private with two piece bathroom... toilet & sink (2 person) $60 - $70
(per room) $60 - $75
Private with two piece bathroom... toilet & sink (3 person) $70 - $80
(per room) $70 - $85
Private with two piece bathroom... toilet & sink (4 person) $80 - $90
(per room) $80 - $95
Private with two piece bathroom... toilet & sink (5 person) $90 - $100
(per room) $95 - $105
If you are visiting in the off season they usually spread you out so that every room isn't full. Often you can get a dorm for 6 with only 2 or 3 people total bunking in the room.
The hostel is only a few years old and is in great condition.
It is constructed with lots of northwest wood and is beautifully decorated.
The bathrooms are plush!
The rooms are nice.
The kitchen is nice and roomie.
The sitting room and dining room have a fireplace and overlook the water with a great view.
There is a game room with a stero system and a pool table which is free to use.
There is a TV room which can be used to watch TV or movies. The hostel has a large variety of movies which can be watched for free as well.
Among trees, close to the beach, this was a peaceful retreat
There are two cabins here that are quite private. One will house about six people and the other is ideal for two people. Kitchen is well equipped and Sulo the host is very helpful.
The Snug Harbour Inn is not actually in Tofino but in Ucluelet (pronounced you-CLUE-let), the neighbouring village. But we stayed there for a couple of days as part of our Tofino trip. After roughing it with a few days of "wilderness" camping, we went the complete opposite and spoiled ourselves at this luxurious B&B set high on a scenic cliff by the ocean. Like its URL says, it has an awesome view.
Where do I start? The ocean-side of the house had a cedar deck complete with large hot tub for guests to stretch out in and enjoy the view. You could also clamber down a steep staircase to the rocks below to look at tidal pools. We had one of the 6 incredible rooms. Ours was called the Atlantis. It featured a beautiful bathroom with spa products and a huge jacuzzi tub complete with cascading waterfall. Heaven! There was also a king-size canopied bed, a wood-burning fireplace, and limited edition local native art. The breakfasts were great and the hosts gracious.
We weren't on honeymoon but we felt like it and it would be the perfect place for a honeymoon. In fact, as fate and a small world would have it, on the last day I bumped into a colleague from work who, unbenownst to me was having her honeymoon at a Snug Harbour Inn!
Our trip to the Tofino area was fairly impulsive and we didn't think we needed to book a camping spot in advance. We were wrong about that and found that all the campgrounds near the beach were completely full. But we finally found a spot a mile or two back from the beach adjacent to a golf course. Getting to the beach was no problem since we had the Jetta.
The campsite was what you would call "wilderness camping," which meant there was no running hot water and you had to drive to the common bathrooms for a toilet. There was, however, a fire pit, a picnic table, and a cold water tap a few yards down the trail from our spot. It still didn't rate as true wilderness camping I remembered from my childhood in Europe, so I didn't feel too hard done by.
The site itself was quite beautiful and secluded, surrounded by ancient rainforest. We had a great time cooking up local seafood on skewers over the campfire and little habachi we brought along.
Tofino is at the northern tip of the Peninsula. The hostel is at the northern tip of Tofino. It was recently completed in 1999 so everything is clean and new. Inside they have a pool table, kitchen, living room, dining room with fireplace, internet, and a patio for group meetings. It's right by Tofino Harbor so the view is incredible. This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in Canada, but also on the expensive side by HI standard. With my HI card, I paid $25.3 (Canadian dollar, after tax) for a Sunday night dorm. By the way, I noticed they recently removed their stuff from the official HI website, so you have to visit their own website (see below) to get more info and photos.
Hands down the nicest place with the best scenery and best food. But is it ever costly. If you plan on staying here for a few nights, you might want to see about taking out a second mortgage on the house to fund it.
But, to me, it was worth the price. The scenery was second to none--see the picture from our balcony. The five star restaurant was just footsteps from our room. And the staff makes a special effort to make all guests feel at home and to meet whatever needs they might have.
Sort by: Most recent | Most helpful
Latest Tofino hotel reviews