Twin Cities, Uhrichsville and Dennison
The twin cities of Dennison and Uhrichsville are nestled in the hills of East Central Ohio midway between Columbus and Pittsburgh. The town of Uhrichsville was laid out first in 1822, but not incorporated until 1866 and was originally named Waterford by Michael Uhrich, its founder. It was renamed to Uhrichsville six years later because the early settlers persisted in calling it "Uhrich's Mill" and because of confusion in the mail system caused by two settlements bearing the name of Waterford. The town of Dennison was laid out in 1865 when the Dennison Land Company was formed but was not incorporated until 1873. The company purchased a large tract expressly to build the town. The name is that of governor William Dennison.