The Williamson County Courthouse
I think many of the Texas towns that are county seats have some pretty impressive courthouses.
The Williamson County Courthouse is constructed (circa 1910-11) in the Classical Revival style. This is actually the fifth courthouse to serve Georgetown. It was designed by the Austin architectural firm of Charles H. Page and Brothers.
The building was designed in the Classical Revival style and features soaring columns, copper dome with a clock facing four different directions and a statue of Justice. These county buildings often loom protectively over the center of a town, with numerous shops, restaurants and businesses encircling it like a wreath.
The Confederate Soldier & Sailor Monument
We noticed this monument to the Confederate Soldier and Sailor at the south entrance of the Williamson County Courthouse. The memorial was erected in 1917, by the United Daughters of the Confederacy.
The information above is etched into the granite base, with a carved wreath circling the date of 1861 (pic #2). In January of this year the South seceded from the Union and the Civil War began, ending in 1865.
Further reading showed that on January 19, Texas celebrates 'Confederate Heroes Day' an official holiday/observance day to honor those who died fighting for the Confederate States of America during the American Civil War. It combines Robert E.Lee's birthday and Jefferson Davis' birthday into one official holiday'*
*info. from www.mainstreet.georgetown.org/history.markers.php
Georgetown--Historic District, B&B's & University
"Former stop on the Chisholm Trail"
Georgetown, Texas is a mere half hour drive from Austin, a 2 1/2 hour drive from Ft. Worth and less than a three hour drive from Dallas using I-35. Travelers headed for Austin's sights have often stopped by and families visiting Southwestern University know of its appeal.
However, there is enough to see that would justify spending an entire weekend immersed in Georgetown's charm for those just wanting to 'de-stress' for a few days.
A striking courthouse overseeing the townsquare, unique restaurants, restored homes and lovely gift, decor and antique shops are all part of the historic district. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here!
A brief history: The Tonkawa Indians once inhabited this area. Georgetown is named after a resident who donated the land to establish the town in 1868, George Washington Glasscock.
Before long, people from Tennessee, South Carolina and other states of the South, as well as, immigrants from Germany, Czechoslavakia, Switzerland, Austria, Moravia and Sweden came to the area.
The town became a stop on the Chisholm Trail and was important to the transporting of cotton via the railroad once it was completed in 1904. It is home to the oldest university in Texas, Southwestern U, founded in 1873.
Old Georgetown--The Historic District
"701 Main Street"
This picturesque building was constructed in 1900--notice its onion dome spire. Upstairs was used as a Masonic Lodge, while first a drugstore, then a post office and later a furniture store claimed the downstairs area. Romeo's restaurant is now situated here.
"719 Main Street"
The Dimmitt Building was erected around 1890. This is considered a Victorian commercial buildilng, with its hand-hewn limestone cast iron and pressed metal embellishments created by Mesker Brothers ironworks. Members of the Dimmitt family still own the building.
"711 & 715 Main Street"
The small white building on the left sits on the site of the first county courthouse (1848). Later, John H Shafer erected this hand-hewn limestone building for his business, Shafer Saddlery. His living quarters was upstairs.
The Evans Building is next door to the right, it was constructed in 1902 from hand-hewn limestone and is in the Romanesque Revival style.
"119 W. 7th Street & 117 W. 7th Street"
This building was constructed in 1885 and remodeled in 1896 by M.B. Lockett, a dry good merchant. It's an example of High Victorian commercial architecture and has castiron columns, oriel windows and decorative pressed metal cornice. Mesker Brothers ironworks is responsible for the impressive details.
The small white and blue building next door was first used as a grocery store. It has a wooden storefront, recessed doubledoor entry and decorative metal cornice--it's an example of a typical early commercial building.
"800 Austin Ave."
"815 S. Main Street"
This divine little chapel (circa 1881-3) and is now the Grace Heritage Center, a venue for weddings or other special occasion events. It features stained glass windows, a bell tower and antique pews.
"410 East University Ave."
Circuit riders once served the community before this church was erected in 1891-92. The building is made of native limestone, hand cut at this location.
Surprisingly, the architect and supervisor was Robert S. Hyer, a physics professor from Southwestern University. The floor plan is that of the Greek cross.