Been here? Rate It!
COLONEL LIGHT ON MONTEFIORE HILL
Who was Colonel William Light?
He was a Surveyor - General who arrived in S.A. to accomplish finding a site for city of Adelaide. His survey of Adelaide began on 11 January, 1837, and was completed on 10 March 1837. The naming of streets and squares took place on 23 May, 1837.
Nowdays, there is a statue of this famous man on Montefiore Hill, overlooking the City of Adelaide. It is known as "Light's vision."
It is Colonel William Light we have to thank for designing Adelaide as a square mile of north, south, east-west streets including a central park and surrounded by parklands, a well laid out city with plenty of greenery.
His design is recognised as one of the most practical and beautiful in the world.
He once had plenty of money, but died penniless and of tuberculosis in Adelaide in October 1839 aged 54.
Light is buried in Light Square, Adelaide and a small monument honours his achievements.
Montefiore Hill was named after the merchant, Jacob Montefiore, one of the ten commissioners of the colony of South Australia.
- Historical Travel
- Budget Travel
- Book now for big savings!
- Hotels.com Outstanding choice of hotels all over the world at fantastic prices.
- Save up to 50% off Hotels Everyday
- Expedia.com Photos, Reviews and the Guaranteed Lowest Prices
Adelaide Travel Guide
Explore the World
- Virginia Beach
- Alta Lake Hotels
- Tanjong Tokong Hotels
- Toco Hotels
- Thomastown Hotels