The actual name is St James church but called something else because the names are interchangeable in Croatian language.
The magnificent church took 102 years to complete and in 1536 the edifice was finished and dedicated to St. Jacob. The medieval architecture of Gothic-Renaissance style under the direction of Juraj DAlmatinac and Nikola Firentinac of Florence. The triple nave basilica concept was a major change in that the Venetians wanted a single nave. Once the change was made, it became a much larger church and a dome was an addition and cupola of 95 feet. The all stone church is unique in its own right and the jointing with grooved stones was a feat not before accomplished.
The outer facade contains 74 heads of people in all different moods/poses, 12 apostles on top and 4 figures on the half shell dome look. Reconstruction was done in 1850-60 and again in 1992-97 due to the WWII war damages, The latest damage came durijng the war of 1991-95 when the dome and other major damages occurred, which just got final repair a short time ago. The cathedral became a UNESCO site in 2000.
There next to nothing to see in this museum. Therefore, it was free. It took all of 5 minutes to see some minor town artifacts, and none were making a lasting impression on me. It covered only one very small room at the palace entry.
Šibenik is beautiful small town in Dalmatia.Here is National Park Krka.This is amazing Natinal Park-lots of waterfall,you can see how people in old days was make flour,in water-mill.There is Skradin,oldest small town in all Dalmatia and there is river Krka unite to Jadransko(Adriatic sea)sea,and make a Prokljan lake.In this lake water is sometime solt,sometimes sweat,that is depend of what wind blow.In centre of lake is litlle island name Gavranova krila or Crow wing.Local people know the legend about this island.Here in coast this amazing lake and river is village Sonkovic.There you can see a real life one dalmation man.People is cultivate olive trees,winegrower,fig-tree.From this village to Šibenik is about 1omin,with cars,but you have experience that you miles from civilisation.In Sonkovic people is wonderful.Everyone is offer you olive,fig,grapes,goasts cheese,wine and there wellknow ham.
The frieze is decorated with 71 sculptured faces of men, women, and children that represent ordinary people living in Sibenik at the time of Juraj Matejev Dalmatinac. They are precious documents that show how ordinary people, not often represented, looked like. Each of them is different and has a very lively look ! You will find here some of them. Enlarge and enjoy !
Note that as the frieze is of course, on a single line, i have pasted three different part of it, one under the other, on the first photo.
A mixture of late Gothic and Reniassance style - a UNESCO heritage site. The outside detail is mind boggeling - note the stone inter-locking arched roof (amazing). The interior is somewhat a let down - the bapistry however is gorgeous (facing the alter, on the right, down the stairs). Be sure to take time to appreciate the carved heads wrapping around the outside of the church.
Cathedral of Sveti Jacov (San Giacomo, St James) is the masterpiece of Šibenik. It was added to Unesco World Heritage List in 2000. Parts of the tips on the subject have been partly burrowed to the description of the cathedral in the World Heritage List.
It is most likely that the first view of the cathedral that you will get will be by its side, as on the first photo. Of particular interest are the side entrance (see next tip) and a medallion appearing on the far left, with a close-up on the second photo.
A bearded saint seems to go out of a cave (there is a second one on the left) and is kneeling in front of a lion. In the background, the countryside looks mountainous and bears several olive trees and the cross with Jesus. Thanks to Leyle (VT TheWanderingCamel) that identified him as Saint Jerome, often represented with a lion and very popular in Croatia.
The Cathedral of Saint James in Šibenik [1431-1535] bears witness to the considerable exchanges in the field of monumental arts between Northern Italy, Dalmatia and Tuscany in the 15th and 16th centuries. The architects, who succeeded one another in the construction of the Cathedral, developed a structure built entirely from stone and using unique construction techniques for the vaulting and the dome of the Cathedral. The form and the decorative elements of the Cathedral, such as a remarkable frieze decorated with 71 sculptured faces of men, women, and children, also illustrate the successful fusion of Gothic and Renaissance art.
In 2000, this monument was listed as UNESCO World Heritage.
The statue of Juraj Matejev Dalmatinaċ, the main architect of the cathedral stands in front of the entrance, on Trg Republike Hrvatske. It was sculpted by Ivan Mestroviċ, the famous Croatian contemporary sculptor. He has represented Juraj Dalmatinaċ with the tools of a stone sculptor : hammer in the right hand and chisel in the left hand.
On the right to the nave, a carved wooden door leads to the baptistery, as can be seen on the first photo. The baptistery was carved by Juraj Matejev Dalmatinaċ, Niccol? di Giovanni Fiorentino and Adrija Aleši (1452).
The second photo shows the baptistery itself, a marble basin hold up by two chubby-cheeked baby angels ("puttis") that were carved by Juraj Dalmatinaċ himself. It stands in the middle of a small room with a marble soil and a ceiling entirely carved (third photo). As the room is very small, it was not possible to take a photo of the whole ceiling and I have tried to give the best of it.
The fourth photo is a close-up that shows how delicately carved the whole ceiling is !
Cathedral of Sveti Jacov is a fascinating example of the considerable interchanges between the three culturally different regions of Northern Italy, Dalmatia, and Tuscany in the 15th and 16th centuries. These interchanges created the conditions for unique and outstanding solutions to the technical and structural problems of constructing the cathedral vaulting and dome. It is a unique testimony to the transition from the Gothic to the Renaissance period in church architecture. Both forms have been successfully blended to achieve and outstanding landmark.
It was begun to build in 1431 but consecrated only in 1555. On such a long period, three architects were involved, one after the other :
Francesco di Giacomo,
Juraj Matejev, the main architect until his death in 1473,
Niccolù di Giovanni Fiorentino from 1477 to 1505.
Besides the architects, other artists were involved, such as Ivan Pribislavlijċ, Andrija Budičiċ, Martin Budičiċ, Adrija Alesi.
At first, the Venetian rulers of the city wanted a single nave church, but once the front was built, they were deceived. They then hired the best architect available, Juraj Matejev, known as Giorgio Orsini in Italy and nicknamed Juraj Matejev Dalmatinaċ (Georgius Mathei Dalmaticus or George the Dalmate). He added side transepts and a dome. Moreover, he invented a new process for building the dome. The stones were adjusted without any jointing. As the cathedral was severely damaged during WWII, when it was repaired, modern builders were unable to find out how it had been done and they had to add an (invisible) coat of concrete to hold the stones !
Around the dome, four figures have been carved. The last photo shows one of them that figures an angel bringing down a demon with a blue spear.
Tvrdava Sv. Ana, the fortress of St. Ana stands on the site of a previous Illyrian stronghold, later fortified by the Croats. The fortress was built and destroyed several times. The Venetians built it in the 15th in its present form. As it is 70 m above sea level, it offers a superb view on the old city of Sibenik.
Former Crkva sv. Barbare (Church of Saint Barbara) is a Gothic single nave church built in the 15th. It is now a very interesting religious museum, Djecezanski muzej. The polyptych of the Virgin with the Saints (early 16th) by Nikola Vladanov and the polyptych of the Virgin with child (15th) from Blaz Jurjev Trogiranin (from Trogir) are the most outstanding artifacts on display.
The old part of the city of Sibenik has many narrow passages paved with stones that have been polished by several centuries of pedestrians. Even in the high season, most of them remain quiet and almost desert.
Two wells, now fitted with a grid, stand in the middle of the square. They actually allowed to pick up water from a cistern that had been built to improve the possibility of the city to resist a seat. They are carved with various motifs.
The second photo shows a roughly carved human figure holding a cross.
The third photo shows a coat of arm with a crenellated stripe across the shield.
The central nave and the two side aisles are separated by columns crowned by beautifully carved capitals. The master Altar was built in the 17th. On the left, a 15th century crucifix but the jewel of the cathedral is the baptistery (next tip).