Kastel Stafilic, the last one in a row, owes its name to Stjepan Stafileo - a nobleman from Trogir who built his castle here in 1508. Today this fort with a yard is known as castle Rotondo.
Nearby stands the picturesque Nehaj tower, built in 1548 at the western part of Kaštel Štafilić by Ljudevit and Ivan Lodi. The tower was built up to the windows of the first floor, and the building was stopped after death of the Lodi brothers. Since they didn’t have male successors their daughters and sons-in-law decided to abandon the building.
Kastel Novi (The New Castle) was built by Pavao Antun Ćipiko from Trogir in 1512. The castle was built in rectangular form, and was encircled by a defensive walls.
The castle now dominates on the sea promenade (Riva), one of the most beautiful in Kastela. The promenade is surrounded by a number of cafes and restaurants and makes a nice destination for an afternoon or evening visit and stroll around.
Kastel Stari (The Old Castle) was built in 1476 at a sea reef by Koriolan Cipico, a nobleman from Trogir. He was known as a writer, humanist and a military leader in the battle of Lepanto. The mansion was a combination of fortress and a palace. It was connected to the mainland by a drawbridge (brvno). After the fire in 15th century the castle was renovated in the Renaissance style with arcaded yard and the southern balcony decorated by the family coat of arms.
Kaštel Lusic: Rusinac castle
There is another castle in Kastel Luksic, and this one belonged to Rosani / Rusinac family. The castle was built in 1482 on the edge of the sea, and later abandoned due to security reasons.
Rusinac and Vitturi castle are connected by Miljenko and Dobrila legend, the local version of Romeo and Juliet. The story dates back to the second half of the 17th century and includes a tragic love story of Miljenko Rusinac and Dobrila Vitturi.
More about this story on the link below.
Kaštel Lukšić: Church of the Virgin Mary
Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary in Kastel Luksic is one of the most impressive churches in Kastela. This baroque church was built from 1776 till 1817. Is is a real treasury of artwork, paintings and statues, among others inside are to be found Piazzetta's Baroque crucifix (17th century), an chalice cover of Palma Junior (16th century) “Madonna’s Assumption”, a painting “Madonna with the child” (15th century) at the main altar. The altar grave of St. Arnir, a work of Juraj Dalmatinac (15thcentury) was transferred here after the fire in St. Arnir's church in Split.
Kaštel Lukšić: Park Vitturi
North of the Vitturi Palace stands the classicistic-style Vitturi Park that dates back to the 18th century.
Because of its historical value the park was declared a monument of park architecture in 1968. This park and only a few others like Gučetić's in Trsteno, Garanjin's in Trogir and Borelli's in u St. Filip and Jakov are the rare monuments of this kind.
A border stone pylon not far from the Vitturi park marks the historic border between domains of noblemen from Trogir and those from Split.
Kaštel Lukšić: Vitturi palace
Kastel Luksic stands on the border between the eastern (more industrialized) Kastelas and those on the western side that are more picturesque and open to nice beaches of the Kastela Bay.
In the center of Kastel Luksic stands Vitturi palace, one of the best preserved castles/palaces of Kastela. It was built by Nikola and Jerolim Vitturi, noblemen from Trogir, in the 16th century. It is a two-story building with balcony and an emergency exit to the sea on the south side and two defensive keeps and a drawbridge as a connection with the mainland on the northern side.
Today the castle is reconstructed and houses the Museum of the Town of Kaštela, the Tourism Board of Kaštela and some cultural institutions. Exhibitions, concerts and theatre shows take place here, especially during the summer months.
The castle in Kambelovac is unique in Kastelas because of its shape - it is the only cylindrical castle. The fortress was built in 1517, by brothers Jerolim and Nikola Cambi from Split. The purpose of this castle was to protect themselves and residents of Lazan and Krusevik settlements.
Originally the castle was built on an islet but today the area is land-filled and the castle is surrounded by other buildings of Kastel Kambelovac.
Kastel Gomilica is one of the most picturesque castles in Kastela. It was built on a reef called Gomilica in the 16th century by Benedictine nuns. The entrance to the castle is protected by bridge. Today some houses are still in use but most of them are ruined and are waiting for some reconstruction projects. So, this picture-postcard image looks best from a distance.
Nearby is a pre-Romanic church of St. Kuzma and Damjan from the 12th century where relics of St. Virgin Mary, St. Kuzma and Damjan, and the king Stephen of Hungay are kept.
The Gothic palace that stands in the center of Kastel Sucurac was built in early 16th century by the Archbishop of Split, who used it as their summer residence. The palace consists of the remains of the old tower, an enclosed yard and the fortified palace. It was built on place of the older castle, dating back to 14th century, also built by archbishops of Split in order to protect their fields and villagers.
Today it is not possible to visit the palace without the previous reservation, but one part functions as an exhibition room "Podvorje" with archaeological artifacts from nearby site Putalj.
Kastel Sucurac probably paid the highest price as the result of the industrialization of the Kastela basin in the second half of the 20th century. Small houses of the fishing village are now in the shadow of the massive cement factories that are located on its eastern edge, and a huge location of now defunct chemical industry on the west. Plus, there is a massive steel works on its northern edge and the view across the bay offers views of the massive docks of shipyard in Split.
Nowadays Kastel Sucurac is also an administrative center of Kastela with the municipal hall and other administrative offices being located here.