This five towered church was build around 1220.
Church of Our Lady is located in the centre of the medieval High Town of Kalundborg.
The Greek cross outlay (symbolysing The Holy Jerusalem), four towers in each end and a 41m tower in the middle make it unique.
Four towers have names - St Gertrude, St Catherine, St Anne and St Magdalene.
In 1827, the middle tower crashed. It was rebuilt in 1871.
This Dutch gallery mill preserves a time when our forebears were far more self reliant than we are nowadays.
The mill was built in 1894 and was in use until 1956.
The cap of the mill could be turned manually to make the sails face the wind.
The estate, the fine example of rococo architecture, was purchased in 1742 by general Christian Lerche and the house was built 1743-1744.
The estate is still owned by the Lerche family.
Hans Christian Andersen visited in 1862.
Nowadays the Knights' Hall is occasionally used for concerts.
Old Kalundborg consisted of three parts. One part is formed by the western defense works, which gave access to the second, middle part, where our-lady's-church is still standing now and where daily town life took place; the third part consists of more elaborate defense works, including a castle. This part lies to the east. Between these parts, the now dry Munkesoen was located.
Some walls and bases of towers can still be seen of the western defense works, but don't expect too much: no actual buildings are left. From the other parts even less has remained. Some pieces of walls are scattered throughout the centre of Kalundborg.
The old part of the town looks like Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tale background!
Fondest memory: Town prevents this houses from any changes.