Toulouse Tourist Traps

  • Hôtel de Rech de Penautier
    Hôtel de Rech de Penautier
    by Klod5
  • Maison Pierre Seilhan
    Maison Pierre Seilhan
    by Klod5
  • Hôtel de Rabaudy de Paucy
    Hôtel de Rabaudy de Paucy
    by Klod5

Most Recent Tourist Traps in Toulouse

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Office de Tourisme

    by Klod5 Written Nov 2, 2004

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    Office de Tourisme de Toulouse

    Vous arrivez dans une ville, Toulouse, totalement inconnue, vous ne savez pas où loger, et vous ne savez pas ce qui est inetéressant à voir. Vous n'avez aucun plan de la ville ! (Bref, vous ne vous êtes jamais connecté sur VT !).

    You arrive in a city, Toulouse, completely unknown, you don't know where to lodge, and you don't know what is interesting to see. You don't have any map of the town. (Brief, you never connected yourselves on VT!).

    Unique Suggestions:
    L'OFFICE DE TOURISME DE TOULOUSE a pour missions :

    ACCOMPAGNER la notoriété de Toulouse et de sa région
    être l'ambassadeur touristique de la ville et de sa région
    PROMOUVOIR les ressources de Toulouse et de sa région
    être en cohérence avec les stratégies de développement internationales, nationales, régionales, départementales et locales
    ACCUEILLIR les visiteurs et la population locale
    VALORISER le tourisme, le patrimoine et la culture
    COORDONNER & RASSEMBLER les opérateurs touristiques, le Tourisme d'Affaires, les équipements


    The OFFICE OF TOURISM OF TOULOUSE has for missions :

    To COME WITH the fame of Toulouse and its region
    to be the tourist ambassador of the city and its region
    To PROMOTE resources of Toulouse and its region
    to be in consistency with the international, national, regional, departmental and local strategies of development
    To WELCOME the visitors and the local population
    To VALORIZE the tourism, the heritage and the culture
    To COORDINATE & to GATHER the tourist operators, the business Tourism, the facilities,

    Fun Alternatives:
    POUR TOUTE DEMANDE D’INFORMATIONS :
    infos@ot-toulouse.fr

    Une équipe de professionnels multilingues pour vous accueillir et vous informer :
    - du lundi au samedi de 9 H à 18 H 30,
    - de mai à septembre : dimanche et jours fériés de 10 H à 13 H et de 14 H à 17 H.
    - d’octobre à avril : dimanches et jours feriés de 10 H à 13 H.

    FOR ALL DEMAND OF INFORMATION :
    infos@ot-toulouse.fr

    A multilingual professional team to welcome you and to inform you:
    - of Monday to Saturday of 9 H at 18 H 30,
    - of May to September: Sunday and holidays of 10 H at 13 HS and 14 HS to 17 H.
    - of October to April: Sundays and holidays of 10 HS to 13 H.
    The services of the Tourism office address as well to the grenoblois that to the French and foreign tourists.
    In English, German, Spanish or Italian, the team of welcome is daily to your monitoring in order to meet your expectations efficiently...

    Internet site :
    Office de Tourisme de Toulouse

    Related to:
    • Business Travel
    • Budget Travel

    Was this review helpful?

  • rwlittle's Profile Photo

    boat tour--it sank for us

    by rwlittle Updated Apr 9, 2004

    There are boat tours offered on the Garonne. We thought that it didn't offer much in the way of seeing sights.

    Also, be aware that the jet-lagged visitor may be lulled to sleep by the rocking of the boat.

    Related to:
    • Romantic Travel and Honeymoons

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel de François de Chalvet

    by Klod5 Written May 3, 2003

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    Toulouse - H��tel de Fran��ois de Chalvet

    Construit au XVIème siècle par ce président du Parlement, le portail est flanqué de pilastres aux chapiteaux ornés et surmonté d'un fronton contenant un blason réalisé, au XIXème siècle lors de l'achat de l'hôtel par la famille de Pins-Montbrun. L'entrée forme un bel équilibre de six arcades. Les façades Sud et Est, dans la cour, sont percées de fenêtres à meneaux à l'encadrement de pierre et de brique alternées. Sur la façade orientale, une inscription rappelle le nom de françois de Chalvet et la date de la construction de son hôtel : 1610 - 1622.

    Unique Suggestions: Constructs in the XVIth century by this president of the Parliament, the portal is flanked of pilasters in the decorated marquees and is surmounted of a pediment containing an achieved blazon, in the XIXth century at the time of the purchase of the hotel by the family of Pins-Montbrun. The entry forms a beautiful balance of six arcades. The facades South and East, in the court, are pierced of windows to mullions to the framing of stone and brick alternated. On the oriental facade, an enrollment recalls the name of françois of Chalvet and the date of the construction of his hotel : 1610 - 1622.

    Fun Alternatives:
    12, place du Parlement

    Related to:
    • Castles and Palaces
    • Archeology
    • Architecture

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel de Lamamye

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel de Lamamye

    Dans la cour, aux trois galeries superposées correspondent, pour la première fois à Toulouse, les trois ordres antiques : dorique en bas, ionique au milieu et corinthien en haut. Tour hexagonale percée de cinq fenêtres, ornées de pilastres de pierre au dernier étage et de gargouilles grimaçantes.

    Unique Suggestions: In the court, to the three superimposed galleries correspond, for the first time in Toulouse, the three ancient orders : Doric below, Ionic to the middle and Corinthian in top. Hexagonal tower pierced of five windows, decorated of stone pilasters in the last floor and grinning gargoyles.

    Fun Alternatives:

    31, rue de la Dalbade

    Related to:
    • Architecture
    • Historical Travel
    • Castles and Palaces

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel Huc de Boysson

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel Huc de Boysson

    Hôtel dont la façade, édifiée par Bertrand d'Autenac date du XVII° siècle.
    Il est situé au N° 11 de la rue Malcousinat, dont les façades ont été reculées, coté pair, au XVIII° siècle. Celles des deux dernières maisons ne l'ayant pas été, nous donnent une idée de l'étroitesse de la rue au Moyen-Âge.
    L'hôtel porte le nom de Huc de Boysson (XV), Capitoul en 1468, puis de Jean de Cheverry (1535).
    Les façades de la cour présentent des portes et des fenêtres Renaissance. La fenêtre du premier étage, ornée de trois cariatides engainées, est surmontée par une petite fenêtre au larmier sur modillons présentant des chiens.

    Au fond à gauche de la cour, un étroit passage donne accès à une deuxième cour où à été conservée une galerie sur deux arcs surmontée de fenêtres à croisillons.
    Au dessus : une tour à six fenêtres enchâssées dans des constructions plus récentes.

    Unique Suggestions: Hotel of which the facade, built by Bertrand of Autenac, dates the XVIIth century.
    It is situated in the N° 11 of the Rue Malcousinat, whose facades were remote, quoted equal, in the XVIIIth century. Those of the last two houses not having it been, give us an idea of the narrowness of the street at the Middle Ages.
    The hotel carries the name of Huc de Boysson (XV), Capitoul in 1468, then of Jean de Cheverry (1535).
    The facades of the court present the doors and windows Renaissance. The window of the first floor, decorated of sheathed three caryatids, is surmounted by a small window to the dripstone on modillons presenting some dogs.

    To the bottom on the left of the court, a narrow passage gives access at a second court where to been preserved a gallery on two bows surmounted of windows to croisillons.
    To the over : a tower to six windows set in more recent constructions.

    Fun Alternatives:

    11, rue Malcousinat

    Related to:
    • Architecture
    • Historical Travel
    • Castles and Palaces

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel Jean de Pins

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel Jean de Pins

    L'hôtel du XVIème siècle à été détruit lors du percement de la rue : on y a reconstruit sur la façade orientale intérieure une parte de la galerie sur de l'ancien bâtiment ornée de bustes en haut-relief. Dans les angles, des verrières - constructions curvilignes métalliques sur culots décorés, fermées de vitres colorées - ajoutées au XIXème siècle, ornent l'ensemble.

    Unique Suggestions: The hotel of the XVIth century to been destroyed at the time of the drilling of the street: one rebuilt there on the interior oriental facade a leaves of the gallery on the former building decorated of busts in high relief. In the angles, of the glass roofs - metallic curvilinear constructions on decorated cheeks, closed of colorful windows - added to the XIXth century, decorate the whole.

    Fun Alternatives:

    46, rue du Languedoc

    Related to:
    • Architecture
    • Castles and Palaces
    • Seniors

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel Lagorrée

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel Lagorr��e

    La porte cochère de gauche (XVII) en anse de panier, est accolée à une porte murée (XVI) en arc plein cintre aux voussures en pierres taillées en pointe de diamant ; chacune des deux portes est surmontée d'un oculus ovale et d'un fronton triangulaire.

    Unique Suggestions: The door carriage entrance of left (XVII) in shackle of basket, is coupled to a walled up door (XVI) in full bow bends to the curves in stones carved in tip of diamond; each of the two doors is surmounted of an oval oculus and a triangular pediment.

    Fun Alternatives:

    34, rur Peyrolières

    Related to:
    • Historical Travel
    • Architecture
    • Castles and Palaces

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Tour de Jean de Boysson

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    Tour de Jean de Boysson

    Tour gothique hexagonale flanquée d'une tourelle sur trompe menant à la terrasse, cette tourelle est coiffée d'un dôme de brique et est percée de fenêtres aux encadrements de pierre.
    En reculant contre le mur de l'ancienne Poste, on distingue, derrière la tour des Ursulines, la Tour Monserat, du N° 11 de la rue Sainte-Ursule, au toit conique de brique.

    Unique Suggestions: Hexagonal Gothic tower flanked of a turret on horn leading to the terrace, this turret is covered of a brick dome and is pierced of windows to the framings of stone.
    While moving back against the wall of the old Post office, one distinguishes, behind the tower of the Ursulines, the Tower Monserat, of the N° 11 of the Rue Ste.-Ursule, to the conical roof of brick.

    Fun Alternatives:

    13, rue Sainte-Ursule

    dans la cour de l'ancien couvent des Ursulines, plus facile d'accès par la rue du Prieuré, dans le virage, par la petite porte metallique à droite du portail automatique

    Related to:
    • Historical Travel
    • Castles and Palaces
    • Architecture

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel de Jean de Bagis

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel de Jean de Bagis

    La porte située sur la façade ouest de la cour est due à Nicolas Bachelier, qui, avec ces deux atlantes vieillissant montre sa parfaite maîtrise de son art.

    Né au début du siècle d'une famille de tailleurs de pierre, Toulouse devait découvrir son talent vers 1533. Il dut certainement apprendre en Italie sa technique d'une indéniable virtuosité.

    C'est en 1538 que sa carrière connut un tournant décisif, avec sa première réalisation de grande envergure. Jean de Bagis, s'était piqué de donner à sa demeure un faste et un luxe à la hauteur de sa réussite et de la gloire de sa famille...

    Unique Suggestions: The door situated on the west facade of the court is due to Nicolas Bachelier, that, with these two atlantes aging watch his perfect mastery of his art.

    Born in the beginning of the century of a family of stone tailors, Toulouse had to discover its talent toward 1533. It must certainly learn in Italy his technique of an incontestable virtuosity.

    It is in 1538 that his career knew a decisive turn, with his first large-scale realization. Jean de Bagis, was pricked itself to give to his home a pomp and a luxury in the height of his success and his family's glory...

    Fun Alternatives:

    25, rue de la Dalbade (dans la cour de l'Hôtel de Clari)

    Related to:
    • Historical Travel
    • Castles and Palaces
    • Architecture

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel François de Clari

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel Fran��ois de Clari

    Jean de Bagis, président du parlement en 1544, fit construire l'hôtel qui est situé au N° 25 de la rue de la Dalbade.
    En 1608, François de Clari, président du parlement lui aussi, fait entreprendre la façade sur rue. Pour montrer sa puissance et sa richesse, il fait utiliser la pierre et l'hôtel est rapidement appelé "ostal de peira".

    C'est ainsi que l'on peut communément, depuis, appeler l'hôtel de Clari : l'hôtel de pierre.

    En 1613, Clari contrôle les travaux du Pont-Neuf. Une innondation emporte la chaussée du Bazacle, entraînant une baisse importante du niveau du fleuve et mattant à jour plusieurs blocs de marbre provennant, probablement, d'un monument antique. Il n'en faut pas plus pour que l'on dise : "I mai de peiras à l'ostal de peira que de peiras al pont".

    Unique Suggestions: Jean of Bagis, president of the parliament in 1544, made construct the hotel that is situated in the N° 25 of the Rue de la Dalbade.
    In 1608, François of Clari, president of the parliament him also, makes undertake the facade on street. To show his power and his wealth, it has the stone used and the hotel is called " ostal of peira " quickly.

    This is how one can commonly, since, to call the hotel of Clari : the hotel of stone.

    In 1613, Clari controls the works of the Pont-Neuf. A flooding carries away the pavement of the Bazacle, dragging a decrease important of the level of the stream and putting up to date several blocks of marble coming, probably, of an ancient monument. It is not necessary more of them so that one says : "I mai de peiras à l'ostal de peira que de peiras al pont".

    Fun Alternatives:

    25, rue de la Dalbade

    Related to:
    • Castles and Palaces
    • Architecture
    • Historical Travel

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel de Dame Vélane

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel de Dame V��lane

    Dans la première cour, à gauche, se trouve un élégant escalier de bois aux plafonds à caissons dont la rampe en fer forgé est ornée de griffons ; les paliers accueillent des guerriers de métal portant une torche.
    Dans la deuxième cour un cadran solaire de 1750, surmonté d'une galerie vitrée, nous rappelle "OMNES VULNERANT ULTIMA NECAT", soit "Toutes les heures blessent, la dernière tue".

    Unique Suggestions: In the first court, on the left, be an elegant staircase of wood to the ceilings to caissons whose wrought-iron rail is decorated of griffins; the landings welcome warriors of metal carrying a torchlight.
    In the second court a solar dial of 1750, surmounted of a glazed gallery, recalls " us OMNES VULNERANT ULTIMA NECAT ", either " All hours wound, the last kills ".

    Fun Alternatives:

    13, rue Vélane

    Related to:
    • Historical Travel
    • Architecture
    • Castles and Palaces

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel des chevaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel des chevaliers de Saint-Jean de J��rusalem

    La façade de pierre blanche, les hautes fenêtres, la corniche sculptée dissimulant la toiture, les quatre colonnes encadrant le portail, tout contribue à la majesté de cette demeure.
    Le portail, au tympan orné d'une croix de Malte, donne accès à une imposante voûte en brique.
    L'hôtel est en cours de restauration, et n'est pas accessible actuellement.

    Unique Suggestions: The facade of white stone, the high windows, the ledge sculpted concealing the roofing, the four columns framing the portal, all contributes to the majesty of this home.
    The portal, to the eardrum decorated of a Maltese cross, gives access at an imposing arch made of brick.
    The hotel is under restoration, and is not currently accessible.

    Fun Alternatives:

    32, rue de la Dalbade

    Related to:
    • Historical Travel
    • Architecture
    • Castles and Palaces

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel de Rabaudy de Paucy

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel de Rabaudy de Paucy

    Au 16 de la rue du Languedoc, l'hôtel de Rabaudy de Paucy (fin du XVI° siècle) est plus connu sous le nom de "Maison de la Belle Paule". La façade, postérieure à 1695, est de brique, les appuis des portails et des fenêtres sont, eux, de brique et de pierre alternées. Le petit portail de gauche est surmonté d'un oculus orné d'une couronne à motif végétal.
    Paule de Viguier, née en 1518, fut choisie par les Capitouls pour remettre, en 1533, les clefs de la ville au roi François 1er qui, subjugué par sa beauté la surnomma "La Belle Paule". Enterrée dans le tombeau des Lancefoc aux Augustins en 1607, elle a été mise au nombre des quatre merveilles toulousaines par le distique de Rougier.
    Les capitouls durent prendre un dit, l'obligeant à paraître deux fois par jour à sa fenêtre, afin d'éviter les émeutes.

    Unique Suggestions: To the 16 of the Rue du Languedoc, the hotel of Rabaudy de Paucy (end of the XVI° century) is more known as "House of the Beautiful Paule". The facade, posterior to 1695, is of brick, the supports of the portals and windows are, them, of brick and stone alternated. The small portal of left is surmounted of an oculus decorated of one crown to plant motive.
    Paule de Viguier, born in 1518, was chosen by the Capitouls to put back, in 1533, the keys of the city to king François 1st that, captivated by his beauty nicknamed he "The Beautiful Paule". Buried in the tomb of the Lancefoc in the Augustins in 1607, she has been put to the number of the four toulousian's marvels by the couplet of Rougier.
    The capitouls lasts to take a says, the accommodating to appear two times per day in his window, in order to avoid the riots.

    Fun Alternatives:

    16, rue du Languedoc

    Related to:
    • Architecture
    • Historical Travel
    • Castles and Palaces

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel du professeur Bérenguier Maynier

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel du professeur B��renguier Maynier

    L'hôtel du professeur Bérenguier Maynier (avocat), ou du Vieux Raisin (ancien nom de la rue), date des XVe et XVIe siècle.
    Entre 1463, l'année du grand incendie, et 1562, celle où commencent les guerres dites "de religion", Toulouse connaît sans doute le siècle le plus brillant de son histoire.
    L'hôtel du vieux raisin, est un des plus accessibles, et un des plus richement décorés. Ces décorations, d'une fantaisie et d'une finesse d'exécution remarquable viennent couvrir à la fois les montants et les linteaux, qui sont traités comme de petits entablements. Dans la cour, le bâtiment principal du XVe siècle est flanqué à droite d'une tourelle d'escalier (XVe), percée de cinq fenêtres d'angles de taille décroissante.
    Les fenêtres de la cour intérieure, sont presque toutes garnies de sculptures d'atlantes, de cariatides, de faunes ou de ternes, réalisées sous l'influence de Nicolas Bachelier. Elles datent du milieu du XVIe siècle.
    La tourelle octogonale (XVe) abrite un escalier à vis.
    La porte en anse de panier est surmontée de deux anges supportant un blason martelé.
    Les fenêtres à meneaux aux pilastres ornés de candélabres sont coiffées de médaillons.
    En façade sur la rue, un portique sur trois arcades relie les deux ailes coté cour.
    Sur la droite du portail d'entrée, dans la cour, posé au sol, on notera un blason en pierre.

    Unique Suggestions: The hotel of professor Bérenguier Maynier (lawyer), or du Vieux raisin (of the Old Grape - former name of the street), date of the XVth and XVIth century.
    Between 1463, the year of the big fire, and 1562, the one where begins the wars says "of religion", Toulouse probably knows the most brilliant century of its history.
    The hotel du Vieux raisin, is one of the most accessible, and one of decorated the most richly. These decorations, of a fantasy and a remarkable execution sharpness come to cover the amounts and the lintels, that are treated like small entablements at a time. In the court, the main building of the XVth century is flanked on the right of a staircase turret (XVth), pierced of five windows of decreasing size angles.
    The windows of the interior court, are nearly all garnished of sculptures of atlantes, of caryatids, of faunas or of drab, achieved under the influence of Nicolas Bachelier. They date the middle of the XVIth century.
    The octagonal turret (XVth) shelters a staircase to screw.
    The door in shackle of basket is surmounted of two angels supporting a hammered blazon.
    The windows to mullions to the pilasters decorated of candelabra are covered of medallions.
    In facade on the street, a porch on three arcades joins the two wings quoted court.
    On the right of the entry portal, in the court, calm to soil, one will note a blazon in stone.

    Fun Alternatives:

    36, rue du Languedoc

    Related to:
    • Historical Travel
    • Architecture
    • Castles and Palaces

    Was this review helpful?

  • Klod5's Profile Photo

    Hôtel de Jean d'Ulmo

    by Klod5 Written May 2, 2003

    2 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    H��tel de Jean d'Ulmo

    Jean de Loumes latinise son nom en Ulmo ; avocat général au Parlement de 1526 à 1529 il rend la justice en fonction des pots de vin perçus. Dénoncé, dégradé, exposé au piloris, marqué au fer rouge et emprisonné à Saint-Malo, il parvient, depuis sa prison à faire falsifier les livres du gouverneur, et finit pendu en 1549.
    L'hôtel résulte de plusieurs campagnes de construction, le corps central, est caractérisé par :
    - une échauguette décorative à gauche,
    - sa tourelle, percée de trois petites fenêtres carrées,
    - son perron de cinq marches, surmonté d'un baldaquin au dôme de marbre blanc, couronné par un vase de fleurs et de fruits, soutenu par deux colonnes de marbre vert (1529).
    Les quatre pierres en avant du perron sont des bouteroues placées là au XIXème siècle lors du percement du passage pour les calèches.

    Unique Suggestions: Jean of Loumes latinizes his name in Ulmo ; general lawyer to the Parliament of 1526 to 1529 he returns the justice according to the pots of wine discerned. Denounced, damaged, exposed to the pillories, marked to the red iron and jailed in St.-Malo, he arrives, since his jail to make falsify the governor's books, and finishes hanged in 1549.
    The hotel results from several campaigns of construction, the central body, is characterized by :
    - a decorative "échauguette" on the left,
    - its turret, pierced of three small square windows,
    - its stairway of five marches, surmounted of a canopy in the white marble dome, crowned by a vase of flowers and fruits, sustained by two columns of green marble (1529).
    The four stones forward "bouteroues" (repulses wheels), placed there in the XIXth century at the time of the drilling of the passage for the barouches is from the stairway.

    Fun Alternatives:

    15, rue Ninau

    Related to:
    • Architecture
    • Castles and Palaces
    • Historical Travel

    Was this review helpful?

Instant Answers: Toulouse

Get an instant answer from local experts and frequent travelers

95 travelers online now

Comments

Toulouse Tourist Traps

Reviews and photos of Toulouse tourist traps posted by real travelers and locals. The best tips for Toulouse sightseeing.

View all Toulouse hotels