On Saturday, 18 June 1927, the region around Adenau, Nürburg and Hohe Acht appeared as in its Sunday best. Visitors from all over the Reich and the rest of Europe is expected. The Nürburg-Ring - the word was then still written with a hyphen - is to be opened. The speakers remind the auditorium of the beginning of construction in 1925, during which at times up to 3,000 workers were building the „first mountain, racing and test course“. After the inauguration motor sports take over, first motorcycle races and the day after car racing.
Many years have gone by since then and today the Ring is one of the main attractions of the Eifel Region. Many events take place here from spring till autum.
High towering above the Eifel Region is the Nuerburg. The castle which can be accessed via various walking trails from Quiddelbach offers panoramic views across the region and the adjacent Nuerburg Ring Race Course.
The castle was build by Graf Ulrich von Are and was completed in 1160. It was the centre of the Are district in today’s Eifel Region. However after the family died out around 1290 this district became part of the Cologne Region.
Today one can explore the ruins of this once beautiful castle.
On the Southern end of the town of Adenau one finds the Buttermarkt. These magnificent timer houses were created in the early 18th century. One of the characteristics of the Buttermarkt is a statue of a local traditional woman with two children.
The Protestant community originates from the early 19th century. Originally the Protestants only met in a small prayer room. The Protestant Church was finished in the year 1914 after the right to start a protestant community was given in the year 1894.
This building has its early beginnings in the 10th & 11th centuries. It was given to the Johanniter Order in 1162 and was used for this purpose until 1794. In 1743 the building was enlarged using Baroque Style. Today the building is used by the Catholic Church community St. Johannes.
The Catholic Church in the historical centre of Adenau originates back to the year 1244. It was several times renewed and side arms were added over the centuries. The parish Adenau dates back to the year 1209.
In a house that was built in 1667 along the Church Square is the Home Museum located. The building housed the black smith in the past. Old tools, the factory of the black smith are also the life in Adenau and its history on display.
This is a museum in an original farm house and displays how farmers lived in the past. Furniture, utensils and old photographs can be found here.
Please note the museum is only open on Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays between April and October.
Another stunning timbered house along the Buttermarkt is used as a private residence today. It also originates from the early 18th century.
This timber house originates from the year 1702 and was used as a weaving mill in the medieval times.
One of the impressive buildings is the house of the Blue Corner from the year 1682. Due to its blue paint the house gained its name. Today it is a lovely restaurant.
The historical house such as the Blue Corner originates from the year 1682. House Markt 8 is a massive timbered house from the year 1630 and is under the protection of the UNESCO.