Did you mean?Try your search again
This is another of the many nice churches in Görlitz - very special is its history. In 1986 the administration of the GDR decided that for economical reasons (coal mining) the small village Deutsch-Ossig, a few km south of Görlitz, had to disappear from mother earth. The question was - what to do with that well-known Baroque Parish church? Surprisingly the communists agreed to deconstruct the old church stone by stone and rebuild it originally in Görlitz-Königshufen. In 1988 the deconstruction began and in 1994 the first mass was celebrated in the "new" church.
The church was originally built 1715-18. There are beautifully decorated patronage boxes inside, a huge, stunning altar with pulpit by local sculptor von Rodewitz, a nice Baroque baptist angel sculpture etc. Well worth a visit, open Fri/Sat. Take tram No. 2 or 3 to the stop "Am Friedhof". From there it is a 3 min. walk.
Written Oct 3, 2005
There is a butcher's shop in Görlitz which is famous for its interior (similar to Pfund's Molkerei, the dairy shop in Dresden). It is located Bismarckstrasse 3, in a townhouse built 1876. In 1911 the shop was decorated with tiles by Villeroy & Boch. The tiles depict scenes of the butcher's work, the process from the cow to the meat in the shop. It is just lovely ...
In 1993 the shop was originally restored. Unfortunately Villeroy & Boch refused to manufacture the few missing tiles, but luckily a small porcelain tiles manufacture from Meissen helped out.
(more of the interior in the additional pics)
Written Oct 3, 2005
One of the particularly charming districts of Görlitz is the area north of the centre of the old town, the so called "Nikolaivorstadt". It is the place where the Slavs first settled in the 11th century. Nowadays it is characterised by small cobbled alleys with beautiful 3- or 4-floor medieval houses, often redesigned in later centuries.
It is the district of craftsmen with their workshops, a quiet and charming part of the town. Don't miss the former city gate ("Finstertor", 1455), the Nikolai cemetery and St. Nikolai church (see next tips).
Written Oct 3, 2004
Under Peter Joseph Lenné the city park was designed in 1833. The town hall with 2700 seats was built in a classicstic Jugendstil in 1911/12 just next to the Neisse river.
Updated Apr 20, 2008
2 Reviews and 1 Opinions flats of former residential building transformed to hotel the hotelier is a very freindly and...