This building is unique amongst the classicist buildings of Miskolc. This stone-built theatre was opened on 24th of August 1823 without public support but with the generous help of the citizens of Miskolc and with the grants of some charitable lords. It was the first stone-built theatre in the country. In 1843 Miskolc went through its biggest conflagration in which the theatre was burnt down as well. It was rebuilt based on Cassano József's plan in 1846. It was renovated several times throughout the years. The present reconstruction started in 1990. The reshaping, renovation and "the block building in" were done based on Bodonyi Csaba's plan. The Museum of Theatre and the History of the theatre was handed over in the autumn of 1996 and can be found at 3 Déryné Street. Legacies of the actors and actresses were put in place raising a monument to the memory of the actors who were attached to Miskolc. Material remains and documentary materials preserving visibly the history of the buildings of the theatre, its construction and reconstruction and the work being done at present.
Since a couple years appiared a tradtion of a beautiful festival the International Bartok+.....Festival!It is held every Sommer!
It is a climatic health-resort built on the meeting point of the Garadna and Szinva valley, on the side of the Hámori Lake. The place took its name from Lilla Vay who was the wife of the minister of agriculture Count Bethlen András. The route leading from Miskolc to Lillafüred leads onto one of the most beautiful ravines of the country. Its two famous points are the Molnár-rock marked with a cross and the Puskaporos-ravine. The name of Lillafüred associated with the beautifully furnished Palace Hotel built between 1927 and 1930 according to the plan of Lux Kálmán. The hotel is surrounded by a terraced hanging garden and a huge park. The Szinva valley with its romantic beauty and the Hámori Lake can be seen from the park, the terraces and rooms of the hotel. The lake itself is not natural; the embankment closing the valley and dam the water of the Garadna back was built in 1813 initiated by the Fazola family. The Palace Hotel held the Writer's Congress in 1933 (its memory is shown with a memorial tablet on the wall of the Hermann Ottó's memorial house). In this event, organized by Kodolányi János, 75 writers took part. Among them were Móricz Zsigmond, Kosztolányi Dezsõ and last but not least József Attila. The beautiful lines of the "Ode" were created there at that time: "I'm sitting here on a glittering rock-bench..." The murmur of the waterfall of the Szinva tumbling down beside the Palace Hotel also belongs to the atmosphere of Lillafüred. Remarkable sights of the area of the holiday resort are the caves, famous for their dropstones and archaeological findings from the prehistoric times. Lillafüred can be reached from Miskolc on either public road or narrow-gauge railway. The railway opened in 1921 and goes through beautiful rocky land, picturesque valleys and even Garadna can be reached on the route.
Take a half-hour ride on the narrow guage railway from Miskolc to picturesque Lillafured, passing through beautiful, wooded hillsides on the way.
The train goes on to the Garadna Valley (one hour from Miskolc), the site of Hungary's first foundry.
See the website for train times.
The Zoo Miskolc of Miskolc city, besides presenting non-domesticated animals, takes a significant part in the enviromental education programme of the region. The institution can be found in a picturesque environment. In cooperation with the National Park of Bükk and Aggtelek it participates in species-preservation and rehabilitative activities.
Adults: 350 Ft
Child: 250 Ft (under 4 years is free)
Group: 220 Ft (min. 20 visitors)
Adults: 450 Ft
Child: 300 Ft (under 4 years is free)
Group: 220 Ft (min. 20 visitors)
There are a lot of things in Miskolc which are unique!!Also the "Miskolci Kocsonya" is one of them!
But what is it?It is aspik!And this aspik has a legend!!It happened in 1912!
A worker ordered in restaurant aspik!The cook who made it has forgotten to took something on the top of the jar so a frog could jump into the liquid and was captured for good!The cook was in hury and didn't recognised the frog as she took the aspik on a plate and served it to the guest!The guest was amazed because in his aspik a frog blinked on him!!Since that time the hungarian use the expression "He blinked as the aspik in Miskolc!"
The festival of the Aspik of Miskolc is held every year in the Palace Hotel in Lillafüred!
In the place of the ring-shaped stand castle standing here before the Conquest building of the huge stone castle commenced in the second half of the 13th century. In 1271 a new castle was mentioned in the charts. The Diósgyõr Castle was developed into a strong fortress and furnished in luxurious style by Ernye ban's family. It was an unattainable fortress by the offensive weapons of that period. It was further extended by Lajos (the Great) and it became an important political centre due to the Polish connections. At that time the castle was in its hey-day. From the time of Zsigmond's reign until the Mohács Disaster it was the residence of the current queen. Afterwards it was given in gage to different families. By this time it had lost its strategic role but it still defended Miskolc and the neighbouring villages against the Turkish troops wanting to levy a payment on the territory. The deterioration of the castle started during the Turkish reign. In 1673 it got into the Kuruc's hands and therefore the commanding officer of the imperial army in Kassa sent a troop of 1500 soldiers to occupy it. This was the only siege of the castle that is known. The castle was set on fire and was destroyed. It became a ruin on 11th July 1678. On this day Kuruc troops prevented German troops from moving there when they arrived and destroyed the outer walls extending inside the ditch and the two barbicans protecting the entrance of the drawbridge. After this the castle became the stone-source of the buildings of the area. The exploration and restoration of the castle began in 1953. Owing to the constant restoration the Diósgyõr Castle is one of the most important medieval monuments of the country. During the exploration several findings, objects and wings of building connected to the history of the castle were found. The Diósgyõr Castle is not only a beauty spot but it also holds international and national open-air performances.
In the regional centre of north-eastern Hungary, in the resort area of Miskolc
well-known for its therapeutic effects since the 16th century spring water with a temperature of 30 °C in cave passages unique in Europe
elements of an entertainment bath, an outdoor swimming pool and a children's swimming pool in the garden
The services of the medicinal compound: hydrotherapy, tangentor, medicinal and refreshing massage, electrotherapy, rheumatological specialist's consultation, sauna
Tapolca is a very old settlement. Anonymus already mentioned the name. Böngör and his son Bors and their descendants used to offer a sacrifice for their gods at the head of the hot spring. From this tradition stemmed the great Bors-Miskoucy clan which kept this place as their burial site after the adoption of Christianity and for this burial purpose a Benedictine monastery was built in honour of Péter and Pál. This monastery was already mentioned in charts in 1241. Tapolca is suitable not only for relaxing and cheerful entertainment but it offers healing as well. The hot springs flowing at the foot of the Castle Hill with radioactive qualities have been famous for their healing power for centuries. The water is suitable for cardiac disorders, artery and circulatory diseases, problems with stomach and the illness of the sympathetic nervous system. The Cave-bath opened in 1959 lessens the pain of those people who suffer from asthma. The lake used for rowing on the side of the forest is surrounded by trees in leaf and varied with islands, which contribute to visitor's comfort. Tapolca holds some of the Miskolc Summer' events from year to year.
Welcome in the chill out area of Miskolc!If you take the bus 15 or the "little tain" you soon reach the station of Lillafüred which is at the bank of lake Hämor!You can row on the lake , or gambeling under the trees....it is very romantic!And when the little hunger comes you can sit in the restaurant of the Palace Hotel (Mätyás Vendéglõ) and enjoy the hungariyn cuisine!
The Tiszai pályaudvar= Railwaystation is one of the first thing that you can see if you come by train!It was built at the end of the 19th century and was renovated in 2002!
From here you can reach all points of the city!
One of the pleasest way of discovering of the enviroment of the town it to take a narrow gagged railway and travel to the hills and mounains reaching Lilafüred (Lake Hämor, St.Steven Cave, Waterfall and Palace Hotel..) the agient iron furnance...and much more!The children love it!!It worth a one day trip!
The only metallurgical monument of the whole country, the ancient iron furnace in Ómassa was preserved between the west part of the Hámori Lake and Újmassa in the picturesque valley of Garadna. Fazola Henrik, who moved from Würtzburg to Eger, built an iron furnace in Ómassa to process iron found in the northern part of the Bükk because the water power of the Garadna brook could be put to the best possible use there. He used the limestone found in the area as slag forming material and the trees of the woods to heat the furnaces, which worked with charcoal. The melting furnace was built by the son of the founder of the smithy Fazola Frigyes in 1813. The raw iron was made here for half a century. It was transported for further processing to Hámor. The decaying furnace was converted into a museum with help of the town in 1952. The model of the old furnace and foundry can be seen together with the early writings and seals of the old founders as well as the artistic block-work which made the founder Fazola family famous all over the world.
It is a historic building of outstanding value of our town. It was built in baroque style. Building began in 1785 by the Greek community who had escaped from the Turkish rage in the Balkan during the 17th-18th century. It took 21 years to finish building it. Its inner decoration, such as the 16 metre tall iconostas made by Jankovich Miklós, its biblical scenes, sacred images and paintings on the columns fascinates the visitor. The Russian Tsarina Katherine 2nd presented the Mary of Kazan devotional picture, which can be seen in the nave, to the Hungarian Greek Church. Next to the church there is the Hungarian Orthodox Church Museum, which was opened in 1985. The artefacts of the museum were gathered from nine Hungarian orthodox churches.
The entrance of the churchyard is a beautifully carved so called Székely-gate. There was a wooden church on this spot in 1698, which was rebuilt several times. It was pulled down in 1938 and a new church was built in Székely style. The church was burnt on. December 4th, 1997. The wooden church has been entirely rebuilt from public contributions on the base of the original planes and it was consecrated on May 2nd, 1999.
It is one of the distinguished and beautifully renovated buildings of the Avas monument complex. The oldest school of the town used to be here. The building itself has been a museum since 1899. Probably, the central part of the museum was constructed in the 15th century. It was reshaped and renovated until it obtained its present features. The museum is right in the centre of the town and it is of interest to the region because of its permanent exhibitions. Herman Ottó's sculpture made by Medgyessy Ferenc stands in front of the museum.