Two schools can be found at Carn Thomas. The old Boy's School built by Augustus Smith in 1854 is the one closest to the sea. It was built with a bell tower and extended over the years. It is now used by the Youth Club and other community organizations.
The construction of this church was one of the conditions of Augustus Smith's lease of the island and it was consecrated in 1838. The lead tanks on either side of the door date back to 1727 and originally came from the Garrison.
The port is the central point in Hugh Town. Not only supplies and mail arrive here and are dispatched to the other islands of the Scilly's. Most of the visitors also land here by ship from the English mainland and it is the main point to start excursions to the other islands.
Even a hospital boat lays in anchorage in case it needs to be dispatched to collect someone from Tresco or another island.
One can over 100 islands by boat from Hugh Town Islets with such names as Men-a-Vaur, Buccabu and Illiswilgig are just some of the unknown English places. A variety of inter island and circular trips available. Numerous boat trips organised by the Boatmen’s Association and independent boat operators run daily services to all the inhabited islands as well as combination and circular trips. If you like to discover the crystal clear waters of the Scilly's you can also take a boat trip on a glass bottom boat.
The Isles of Scilly Museum on St Mary's, contains a fascinating array of artefacts, from pre-history to the present day as well as a growing collection of family history records. A great place to learn more about the history of these unique islands.
The town hall was built in 1889 and houses the islands administration. Right next to it one can find a typical Scillionian cottage of the late 18th or early 19th century with a scantle slate roof and pantiled outbuilding.
The Star Castle is the oldest surviving building on the Garrison. It was built in 1593 to protect St. Mary's in the event of another Spanish Armada and took only 18 months to construct. One can still see part of the date over the gateway with the initials for ER Elizabeth I above it. The castle and its surrounding wall are in the shape of an 8-sided star. It has been a hotel since the 1930's.
The Garrison Gate originally dates back to the beginning of the 17th century when the length of the curtain wall from coast to coast across the neck of the Garrison was built. It was remodelled and the bell-tower added in the 1740's by Abraham Tovey, the Master Gunner, whose initials can be seen on one of the plaques over the gateway. The other plaque has the initials GIIR George II.
St. Mary's Hall dates to 1939 and was built as a private house for Count Leon Ferrari, an Italian nobleman who married a Scillonian girl. Today it is a luxury hotel.
Along the beach one can still find the old lifeboat house that was built in 1874 and used only until 1899, to house the lifeboat that was used to rescue from Porthcressa Beach.
Most of the houses in Church Street date back to the mid 19th century and were built as Hugh Town started to expand in typical style of the Scilly Isles.
The Post Office built in 1897 was designed by Thomas Algernon Dorrien-Smith, the Lord proprietor of the Islands. it is an unusual style with its massive granite boulders and alpine roof timbering.