ST. JOHN'S EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH
Favorite thing: Built at its current site at 89 Edgewater Street in 1869 ST/ JOHN'S EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH was renovated in 1903, with the addition of side wings and stained glass windows in the chancel. Shops' carpenters built the ornate woodwork ceiling to resemble the inside of a hull of a ship. The church is a wood frame structure built in simple Gothic Revival Style and painted white with minimal black trim.
St. John’s Evangelical Lutheran Church was the first church to be located in the commanding position on the main road from the east at the head of Mahone Bay harbour. Within two decades it was joined by St. James Anglican and Trinity United churches. With St. John’s Evangelical Lutheran Church in the middle, these churches are collectively well-recognized and known as Mahone Bay’s “Three Churches.”
ST. JAMES ANGLICAN CHURCH
Favorite thing: Situated at 65 Edgewater Street. Built between 1885-1887 ST. JAMES ANGLICAN CHURCH is built in the High Victorian Gothic Revival Style and painted in a striking scheme of yellow ochre, brown and red. It is part of the "Three Churches" iconic image of Mahone Bay Harbour.
In its commanding position at the head of Mahone Bay harbour on the main road from the east, St. James' Anglican Church is visible from land and sea. For many years, its thirty-metre steeple was marked on marine charts as Mariners lined up the steeples of the three churches on the shore – as a navigational aid. St. James' Anglican Church is the most southerly of these churches.
TRINITY UNITED CHURCH
Favorite thing: Built circa 1861-1862. Situated at 101 Edgewater Street, TRINITY UNITED CHURCH is one of the "Three Churches" iconic image of Mahone Bay Harbour. It features a blend of Gothic and Classical Revival architectural styles.
Trinity United is valued by the community as a place of on-going worship since 1863. Also Trinity United is one of the venues for the summer series "Music at the Three Churches".
The interior features the Casavant Organ and original wooden pews, wainscotting and wood ceiling.
MAHONE BAY TOWN HALL
Favorite thing: Located on 493 Main Street, the building now used as MAHONE BAY TOWN HALL was built in 1848. It had a long history as a hotel, before its purchase by the town in 1934. Over the years the building has been known as Frail's Hotel, J.B. Millett's Hotel, Laurie House and the Aberdeen Hotel.
Originally, the building was neo-classical style with central doors flanked by evenly spaced windows, two symetrically placed chimneys, and a steeply pitched roofline. Later alterations included additions to the rear of the building, removal of the chimneys, construction of a central front tower, and replacement of the lower front two-over-two sash windows with picture windows.
- Great room rates
- Save money, Book now!
- Booking.com Excellent choice, Low rates