By Boat, Grand Canyon National Park

3 Reviews

Know about this? Rate It!

hide
  • By Boat
    by Martin_S.
  • Rafting the Colorado river
    Rafting the Colorado river
    by goingsolo
  • Martin_S.'s Profile Photo

    Colorado River Rafting, all the companies

    by Martin_S. Written Jan 13, 2006

    4.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    This is a complete listing of the companies that have liscenses to operate within the boundries of the Grand Canyon National Park.
    1) Diamond River Adventures (www.diamondriver.com)
    2) Tour West (e-mail: twriver@aol.com)
    3) Arizona River Runners (www.raftarizona.com)
    4) OARS (www.oars.com)
    5) Western River Expeditions (www.westernriver.com
    6) Grand Canyon Expeditions Company (www.gcex.com)
    7) Arizona Raft Adventures (www.azraft.com)
    8) Grand Canyon Discovery (www.grandcanyondiscovery.com)
    9) Wilderness River Adventures (www.riveradventures.com)
    10) Hatch River Expeditions (www.hatchriverexpeditions.com)
    11) Outdoors Unlimited (www.outdoorsunlimited.com)
    12) Canyon Explorations (www.canyonexplorations.com)
    13) Colorado River & Trail Expeditions (www.crateinc.com)
    14) Moki Mac River Expeditions (www.mokimac.com
    15) High Desert Adventures (www.boathda.com)
    16) Canyoneers, Inc. (www.canyuoneers.com)

    Related to:
    • Family Travel
    • Rafting
    • National/State Park

    Was this review helpful?

  • Martin_S.'s Profile Photo

    Colorado River Rafting

    by Martin_S. Written Jan 13, 2006

    3.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    If you are planning to raft on the Colorado River in the Grand Canyon National Park, there are a number of authorized "river runners" and we checked them all.
    Diamond River Adventures (this is the company we ultimatley chose to go with, if you need information talk to Helen she is a great help).
    On the following page will be a complete list of the companies, this page is devoted to Diamond only.
    And here I would like to thank Diamond River and their crew on the river especially for making that week so special, not only the environment itself, but the "climate" created by the interaction of these professionals.

    Related to:
    • Family Travel
    • National/State Park
    • Rafting

    Was this review helpful?

  • goingsolo's Profile Photo

    Rafting the Colorado through the Canyon

    by goingsolo Written May 5, 2004

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    Rafting the Colorado river

    Numerous tour companies lead river rafting trips along the Colorado River. The guides do most of the work transporting gear, cooking and setting up camp. It is a more leisurely trip than carring everything on your back, but in some places, the rapids are pretty heavy and boats do tip over. Rafts are either motorized or non-motorized and the most of the paddle trips involve guides steering the boat. There's also an option to leacve the rafts near Phantom Ranch and hike back up, experiencing the best of both worlds.

    Was this review helpful?

Instant Answers: Grand Canyon National Park

Get an instant answer from local experts and frequent travelers

100 travelers online now

Comments

View all Grand Canyon National Park hotels