Fenwick Island Lighthouse (87-foot tall - 26,1 metres) began protecting mariners on August 1, 1859 and it's still in operation. The light could be seen from 15 miles (24 km) at sea.
The location of the lighthouse is unique. It was built on the eastern edge of the Mason-Dixon Line - the border between Delaware and Maryland. The stone marker (to the left) at the "end of the line," has one side of the marker inscribed with the coat of arms of William Penn and the other side with the coat of arms of Lord Delaware.
Tours of the Fenwick Island Lighthouse are available during the summer months. Free admission. But donations are welcome.
This Lighthouse was first lighted in 1858, the third-order lens, eighty-three feet above sea level. This original tower is still functional to this day, or night as you can see. This lighthouse is virtually on the Mason-Dixon line separating Delaware and Maryland.
The fascinating collection of this museum contains maritime artifacts from local shipwrecks, as well as a large collection of sea life and shells from around the world. See jewelry and hundreds of coins, silver and gold bars, and porcelain and pottery recovered from wrecks, plus weapons found along the Delmarva Peninsula, a lighthouse display, and hundreds of shells and collectibles.
Wonderful gift shop is located on the first floor of this museum.
Free admission, but donations are welcome.