Raleigh Travel Guide

  • Beautiful Downtown Raleigh, Mississippi
    Beautiful Downtown Raleigh, Mississippi
    by Stephen-KarenConn
  • Smith County Courthouse, Raleigh, Mississippi
    Smith County Courthouse, Raleigh,...
    by Stephen-KarenConn
  • Historical Marker at Smith County Courthouse
    Historical Marker at Smith County...
    by Stephen-KarenConn

Raleigh Things to Do

  • Stephen-KarenConn's Profile Photo
    Smith County Courthouse, Raleigh, Mississippi 2 more images

    by Stephen-KarenConn Updated Jan 7, 2007

    Smith County, established December 23, 1833, is located in the south central part of Mississippi. It was formed from some of the last of the land of the Choctaw Indian Cessions, under the Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek. Smith County was named for Major David Smith, a Private in the Revolutionary War who fought at Kings Mountain, Cowpens, and Euthaw Springs.

    The county has had four courthouses; the first three were destroyed by fires. The present neo-classical brick courthouse was built in 1912.

    Related to:
    • Architecture
    • Historical Travel

    Was this review helpful?

Instant Answers: Raleigh

Get an instant answer from local experts and frequent travelers

82 travelers online now


Raleigh Travel Guide
Map of Raleigh

View all Raleigh hotels