Ithaca Sports & Outdoors

  • Hockey Tickets
    Hockey Tickets
    by TRimer

Most Recent Sports & Outdoors in Ithaca

  • ianerin's Profile Photo

    Cornell Hockey

    by ianerin Written Apr 6, 2006

    Cornell University has all the sports a major unversity has, but none come close to the popularity of the hockey team, which plays in cozy Lynah Rink.

    If you like College Hockey, a visit to Lynah Rink is a must not only due to its extremely tight confines (it is currently being renovated, but will only expand marginally) but also for the ambiance the Cornell students, all of whom seem to have memorized a small book of cheers for their team, not to mention jeers and insults for the visitors.

    However, plan ahead because tickets can be extremely hard to come by, especially against rivals Harvard and Colgate. A good bet is to look on online university billboards where students may be selling their tickets for a specific game.

    Was this review helpful?

  • TRimer's Profile Photo

    Big Red Hockey

    by TRimer Written Sep 6, 2002

    2.5 out of 5 starsHelpfulness

    The men's hockey team at Cornell is one of the best in the country.

    Cornell's hockey team is a gold mine for the national media, especially with the goalie tandem of senior Matt Underhill and freshman David LeNeveu, both of whom head hockey coach Mike Schafer '86 deemed worthy of playing in the NHL. Not to mention the team has been one of the biggest surprises in the ECAC and college hockey after being ranked as low in sixth in preseason poles. That's sixth in the ECAC; the Red has been closer to sixth in the country though all season.

    Famous hockey alumni include Joe Nieuwendyk who plays for the NJ Devils. I had the honor of watching him play at Cornell my Jr. and Sr. years.

    Equipment: Here is the schedule for 2002-2003

    Date Day Opponent Location TV Time
    10/27/2002 Sun York (exhib.) Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    11/01/2002 Fri Ohio St Columbus, OH 7:00 PM
    11/08/2002 Fri Yale Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    11/09/2002 Sat Princeton Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    11/15/2002 Fri Vermont Burlington, VT 7:00 PM
    11/16/2002 Sat Dartmouth Hanover, NH 7:00 PM
    11/22/2002 Fri Harvard Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    11/23/2002 Sat Brown Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    11/30/2002 Sat Boston Ithaca, NY 3:00 PM
    12/01/2002 Sun Boston Ithaca, NY 3:00 PM
    12/06/2002 Fri Western Mich Kalamazoo, MI 7:00 PM
    12/07/2002 Sat Western Mich Kalamazoo, MI 7:00 PM
    12/28/2002 Sat Fla. Everblades Classic Estero, FL TBA
    12/29/2002 Sun Fla. Everblades Classic Estero, FL TBA
    01/04/2003 Sat St. Lawrence Canton, NY 7:00 PM
    01/05/2003 Sun Clarkson Potsdam, NY 7:00 PM
    01/17/2003 Fri Union Schenectady, NY 7:00 PM
    01/18/2003 Sat Rensselaer Tech Troy, NY 7:00 PM
    01/24/2003 Fri Clarkson Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    01/25/2003 Sat St. Lawrence Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    01/30/2003 Thu Colgate Hamilton, NY 7:00 PM
    02/01/2003 Sat Colgate Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    02/07/2003 Fri Dartmouth Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    02/08/2003 Sat Vermont Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    02/14/2003 Fri Brown Providence, RI 7:00 PM
    02/15/2003 Sat Harvard Boston, MA 7:00 PM
    02/21/2003 Fri Rensselaer Tech Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    02/22/2003 Sat Union Ithaca, NY 7:00 PM
    02/28/2003 Fri Princeton Princeton, NJ 7:00 PM
    03/01/2003 Sat Yale New Haven, CT 7:00 PM

    Hockey Tickets

    Was this review helpful?

Instant Answers: Ithaca

Get an instant answer from local experts and frequent travelers

40 travelers online now

Comments

Ithaca Sports & Outdoors

Reviews and photos of Ithaca sports & outdoors posted by real travelers and locals. The best tips for Ithaca sightseeing.

View all Ithaca hotels