Glenmore was built between 1868 and 1869. Likewise many houses of the Victorian period it has French influences.
Only two families have owned and lived in Glenmore: the Branners and Jarnagins. Both are well-known in Jefferson County. Also, both families have connections to almost every pioneer family in the surrounding region. John Roper Branner, who built the house, was the grandson of Michael and Christina Branner, who came from Virginia in 1799.
From 1868-1869, John Roper Branner built his dream house, which he called "The Oaks." Sadly, John Roper Branner never got to live in the house. He died shortly before it was completed. John's widow, Deborah (neé Massengill), had to oversee completion of the house and move her children there. Afterward, John's brother, Joseph, ran the Branner Institute for Young Ladies in the house.
In 1882, the Branners sold their home to Milton Preston Jarnagin, Sr. Milton changed the name of the house to "Glenmore," the name of his first son, who died as a baby.
In February, 1970, the 101-year-old house and surrounding property were saved from the auction block and developer's bulldozer when the heirs of Milton Preston Jarnagin, Sr., presented the site to the Jefferson County Chapter of the Association for the Preservation of Tennessee Antiquities (APTA)
In January, 2000, Glenmore suffered a terrible tragedy. Thieves broke into the house and stole several pieces of furniture and furnishings. Some were priceless, unique antiques. Although some of the items were recovered, the thieves vandalized them all, leaving a hideous scar on Glenmore.
Glenmore shows it in the curving, mansard-type roofs and dormer windows. An interesting legend surrounds Glenmore's windows. Some believe the number counted on the outside does not equal the number counted from inside the house.
Sat. & Sun. 1:00 - 5:00 pm
May 1 - October 31 (except holidays)
More information you can find on the site below