Stanton is a town of about 2600 located in the Panhandle Plains Region of North Texas. The town was founded in 1881 by German Catholics and was originally named Marienfeld (Mary's Field). They changed the name to Stanton in 1890 to honor President Lincoln's Secretary of War, Edwin M. Stanton. The town was made the county seat of Martin County in 1884.
" With the purpose of founding a monastery and a German Catholic Colony, Carmelite Monks, in 1881, began the first Catholic Church between Fort Worth and El Paso. The adobe and brick monastery was completed in 1884, and St. Joseph's Church in 1885.
Sisters of Divine Providence opened a short-lived school in 1887. It was reopened in 1894 by the Sisters of Mercy. In 1897, the Carmelite Monks disbanded and sold the property to the Sisters of Mercy. They operated a convent and academy until abandonment in 1938 (due to a tornado on June 11, 1938). All that remains are the dormitory, ruins of the other buildings and the cemetery. "
It's a real shame that the city of Stanton is letting this landmark run down. From obvious vandals tearing up the place and allowing the landscape to overgrow with weeds and trash, it's a crime. The architecture with Gothic and Southwestern flair is unique to this region. The building holds some shadows to the past with carvings from the names of the nuns and bishops that called this place home. Soon, this will be gone, so if you are in this area make a stop by this historic site that will soon be history if the town doesn't step forward to save it.