To get a Walking Tour map, first stop here at the Visitor's Center, which is housed in the Hattie Drummond House, which was built circ. 1865. Other stops on the Walking Tour will be under Local CustomTips.
This house was built for Hattie Drummond by her brother, Mr. Watson, to serve as a millinery business shortly after the Civil War. Hattie's husband was apparently an irresponsible roamer, guilty of long and frequent absences. Hattie's brother wanted to provide her with some financial security. The business proved to be so successful that by 1868 Hattie had paid back her brother, and the house and business were deeded to her "free from all marital rights of her husband".
Enjoy the architecture on Main Street. These two houses look like twins, but there are lots of other unique Victorian-style houses along the street. They are all in various states of upkeep or disrepair and each is beautiful in its own way--a bit like people, really!
Many yards are also graced with the same landscape accessory--a cat (or two or three) lazing in a spot of sunshine!