The great facade and staircase to St. Paul's church is the most famous landmark of Macau. Designed by an Italian Jesuit and with the help of Japanese Christian artisans, the church was built from 1602 to 1637. Two hundred years later, in 1835, a fire burned it to the ground, leaving only the facade, the staircase and some walls. These relicts were restored in 1991.
The church of St. Paul's was of a complex together with the Monte Fort built in 1630. In 1835 a fire which destroyed all the church except for its great stone facade.
After restoration work, lasting from 1990 to 1995, the back side of the Ruins of St. Paul's was turned into a museum. The ruins are regarded as the symbol of Macau and now offer visitors a new site where they can view the remains of the former Church of the Mother of God, visit a Crypt where the relics of the Martyrs of Japan and Vietnam rest, and a museum of Sacred Art where there are exhibits of paintings, sculptures and liturgical objects from churches and monasteries in the City.
Everyone sees the St. Pauls Cathedral Ruins and Museum of Macau right next door. Its touristy but it introduces you to the EuroAsian experience.
All that remains of the greatest of Macau’s chruches is its magnificent stone facade and grand staircase. The church was built in 1602 adjoining the Jesuit College of St. Paul’s, the first Western college in the Far East where missionarie such as Matteo Ricci and dam Schall studied Chinese before serving at the Ming Court in Peking as astronomers and mathematicians.
St. Paul's is the most famous landmark of Macau and behind the facade is Saint Paul's Museum which opened daily 9am to 6pm (except Tuesday). Entrance is free.
This is the most famous landmark in Macau which were built by Jesuits in 1602. However, a fire burned down the church in 1835 with only the facade remained.
people always see the front of Ruins of S.Paul. but not many people go further behind it. you can see a list of all missioners who dead in the fire.