Map &
Directions

Hours
mode_edit
Been here?
Rate it
chevron_left
 
chevron_right

Top Tours

 
Night Shopping Tour in Seoul
"You will start your night shopping tour when you are picked up at your hotel and go to the Myeongdong Fashion Street. The Myeongdong Fashion Street is one of the busiest places in Seoul and is among Korea’s premier shopping destinations. Over 1 million s Myeong-dong market has been a witness to Korea’s tumultuous modern-day history as a center of city politics economy and culture.After seeing the Myeongdong area you will check out the Dongdaemun Doota Shopping Mall which is a fashion mall full of trendy fashion items. There are 540 stores throughout the 8-story building including designer shops select shops
From $90.00
 
Korean Demilitarized Zone and Dragon Hill Spa Tour
"Hotel pickup for this tour will be at 8 or 8:40am in Seoul. From there you will head to Imjingak Pavilion located at 50km northwest of Seoul. This pavillion was built for 5 million people who had lost their homes. Major facilities include the North Hall where you can get a view of the North Korean lifestyle.After the Imjingak you will head to the DMZ a demilitarized zone formed after the Korean War between South and North Korea. It is 2km wide in the North and 4km wide in the South based on the truce line crossing the Korean Peninsula. Visitors can see that the DMZ area’s ecosystem has been preserved you will go to the third infiltration tunnel which was discovered in October 1978. This tour will show you through the 3rd underground tunnel that North Korea which has been continuously provoking the South since the armistice
From $160.00
 
Seoul History and Culture Small-Group Tour
"Experience both the urban modernity and historic traces of Seoul on a three-hour walking tour. Meet your local guide and head to Bukchon Hanok village a residential area dating back to the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1897). The village is lined with hundreds of hanoks (traditional Korean houses). Walk along the quiet alleys and admire the latticed windows and patterned brick walls. Today many of these hanoks operate as cultural centers restaurants and tea houses providing an opportunity to become immersed in traditional Korean culture.Next visit the Tteok Museum a unique museum detailing the history
From $52.00

Area Reviews Tips (16)

Area Reviews: Shinchon

This is the college town area of Seoul. Two of the three most prestigious universities in Korea are located in this part of town and because these students study hard, they like to play hard too. There are a lot of good nightclubs over here both large and small. Whatever your musical taste is you can find it. One of the best Hip-hop clubs is the Zen. It is always crowded due to it's decent dance floor. It's baby brother further up the street, Zen II has no dance floor, but the same music. They also make very good drinks. My favorite place to hangout in this area is "The Rolling Stone". It is styled like a cross between a Irish Pub and a Rock and Roll bar. No dance floor, but the DJ can play you anything you ask for and I do mean anything. The bartender is one of the most beauiful women you have ever seen and has outstanding drink mixing skills. Try the Long Tea. Food is served as well, but it runs to be a bit expensive. Some places inthe area recently have put up "No Foregner" signs due to some of the local US military starting to invade the place (bleed over from Itaewon), but these are very few. If you don't look military, you should have no problem.

Dress Code There is no particular dress code here. You will see everything from business suits to some nearly naked women strolling the streets and the clubs. However, being barefoot is not recommended.

olddude's Profile Photo
olddude
Aug 14, 2004

SinCHOEN on Line 2, Not Near Hong-Dae: Sinchon or Sincheon??

Here's the story: a bud of mine said to meet him and some guys at 신천/Sincheon...sounds like 신촌/Sinchon, right? Everyone knows that Sinchon is a hot-spot (near Hong-Dae) for kids at the clubs...so I got a cab there. Meet at the McDonald's, sure, no problem. Turns out that Line 2 has both a Sinchon (where i was) and a Sincheon (where he was, near Chamsil). And, true to Korean style, there was a McDonald's near each subway station (but mine had a Burger King next to it, his a KFC). Took another hour to meet up with the group, but it was worth it.

One of the guys said that Sincheon was the 'best kept secret in Seoul"...ya, I guess so! But it is a rockin' spot. Lots of youngsters from the Song-pa and Kangnam area and many, many bars, hofs, restaurants, clubs and...um...other places. There's even one that specializes in my favorite: Crowl Royal. The bar has massive posters with the bottle and purple velvet bag....ahhhh...home.

Dress Code Anything.

jburron's Profile Photo
jburron
Jan 07, 2005

Hongdae (Honggik University): A Good Clubbing District

Hongdae (Honggik University) This is a very much student biased area (and thus really cheap!). Again, it swarms with bars and pubs (Hofs as they are known in Korea) populated by a very friendly young crowd, always keen to practice English on you.

The last Friday of the month, Hongdae goes wild with 'Club Day'. You pay the equivalent of about $10 and it gets you admission to 11 different clubs, all night, in and out as much as you want.

On Club Day, Hongdae is as lively as anywhere you could find, with both Koreans and westerners. It's a great vibe. However the downer is, club day is Packed, packed packed! I was in NB (a hip hop club) last night and it was soooo packed I could even get t o the bathroom. If there was a fire, everyone woulda died.

Club days are a great vibe, but I would suggest going later when some of the crowd has thinned.

Hongdae is also great for Art...... It houses of of Korea's Art schools (Honggik Univ). Hence the cafe's are getting cooler, darker, cruddier. Painting and sculptures abound. It really is a great area.

Dress Code Dress how it goes.... ^.~

Hmmmm's Profile Photo
Hmmmm
Sep 17, 2004

Hongdae: Hongdae

Hongdae is one of those places on earth that I truly hate. It is a place where the locals like to hang out, but no one else is welcome. Granted, there is a pretty good reason for this. In May of 2004, an American GI stabbed a local Korean man. I don't know the situation behind it, but the stabbing has lead to an Anti-American feel to the area. Granted the signs say no GI's, but if you are a westerner, it really means you.

Take for example, me. I am old,fat, bald, and so out of shape that I was sweating buckets going down the steps in Seoul's humid climate. Yet, I was mistaken for a young in shape GI. I know this because everyone there gave me the Yankee Go Home phrase, even the messed up Australian kid who was selling drugs in a corner. no problem, I was happy to go.

I wouldn't even say it was the one bar I went to, it was all five. Some wouldn't even let me in the door. Plus, this is the only place in Asia where I constantly felt that my life was in danger.

While clubbing is fun, and this is a good place to do it. It is not worth the BS you have to go through if you are not Asian looking.

Dress Code Depends on th clubs

kdoc13's Profile Photo
kdoc13
Jul 03, 2004
 
 
Sponsored Listings

Hotels Near Seoul

Hotels
99 Euljiro 5-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul, 100-195, South Korea
Show Prices
Hotels
131-1 Eulchiro 5-Ka, Chung-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Show Prices
Hotels
77-2, Uljiro-5ga, Jung-gu, Seoul, 100-196, South Korea
Show Prices
Hotels
275-3, Euljiro5-ga, Jung-gu
Show Prices
Hotels
133-1 Ulchiro 5-Ka, Chung-Ku, Seoul, South Korea
Show Prices
Hotels
22-5 Chungmuro 5 ga, Junggu, Seoul, South Korea
Show Prices

Itaewon Area: Itaewon Area

This is probably the most Western Friendly part of Seoul I was in. But there is a reason for that. It is right next to the Youngsan base, and is also the place where it seems every soldier or English Teacher lives near. Thus, bars like Hollywood are very happy to see the Westerners there.

Of course, there is a good chance that the really cute girl you are sharing a drink with at the bar or dance club is actually a prostitute who is more interested in your money than sharing a dance out on the floor, but that is the nature of the area.

It is remarkably safe, minus a stray drunk soldier or two and and straying into the wrong Russian Mafia Club (see my warnings page.) But I have spent a lot of time in the area, and have only had trouble once.

Dress Code Depends on where you are going.

kdoc13's Profile Photo
kdoc13
May 28, 2004

Hyewa: Hyewa

This is probably my favorite nightlife area in Seoul. It is not as unfriendly as Hongdae, and the GI's haven't ruined it or made it feel creepy like they have in Itaewon. The people are friendly and there is a lot of stuff to do here.

All around the area you will find restaurants, clubs, and noraebangs (kareoke) for hanging out at. One of my favorite clubs though, is "The Flair". Imagine a whole bar of people doing bottle spinning tricks like the ones from the movie Cocktail. It is really impressive. I have a more detailed review elsewhere.

If you are a westerner, politeness and friendliness pays off. You are sure to meet friendly people who will be fun to be around. If you are out to pick up women, go back to itaewon, you will have more luck there, it is just not that kind of scene here.

Dress Code Korean's tend to dress a bit more conservatively. Some of the clubs you go to will have a feel that is more business casual, others jeans and a T-shirt are probably overdressing. Dance Club slutty - look? Probably not. But if you dress modestly, and non-offensively you should be ok.

kdoc13's Profile Photo
kdoc13
Jul 03, 2004

Itaewon, Namdaemun and other night markets: Night Markets

Other than getting yourself pissed drunk in a Korean pub or finding your way up Namsan tower at night, you could experience the night markets in Seoul.
Like the pasar-malams (night markets) of Singapore, these markets offer you a snapshot of local culture and give you plenty of opportunties to buy cheap things you won't normally find at the airport. Yes, prices are insane there. I was quite glad to stock up on my Korean candy in Seoul before I left for Incheon. My bag of pumpkin taffy cost about 5000won in Itaewon . I found the same bag later in Incheon and it costs 10000won there.
Apart from cheap prices, there are plenty of things to see and do. I'll comment about the night markets in Itaewon and Namdaemun as they're pretty contrasting.

bpacker's Profile Photo
bpacker
Jan 16, 2004

Gangnam: Gangnam

I discovered Gangnam while working for a technology company. There are many of them in the area (tech companies), but it is also a really fun place to hang out.

There are many movie theaters, bars restaurants, and at night they bring out the roach-coaches for street dining. The good thing about the area is that many of the restaurants stay open 24 hours, and a lot of the bars are open late too. So, if you are out late, and miss the last subway train, you can go clubbing until 4 or 5 in the morning, then get some food before catching the subway to work.

It seems to be a very young crowd here, this doesn't always work to a westerners advantage, I think too many people think of the GI's in their clubs and tend not to want them here. I went with Korean Co-workers and didn't have any trouble though, even met some new people. If you are a westerner looking for a place to hang out, this probably won't be the best place for you, I would stick to the university areas. But, a good time can be had here. There are a lot of arcades where you can get your groove on playing "Pump" it is a dance type game similar to Dance Dance Revolution or games of that generation.

Dress Code Jeans and a T-shirt won't work here, except for perhaps the arcades. Business casual is what Korean's seem to relax in, so at some of these clubs you may see a higher level of dress than that. It will all depend on where you go though.

kdoc13's Profile Photo
kdoc13
Jul 03, 2004
jburron's Profile Photo

jburron

"Welcome to The Land of Big Smog"
View Member
Ewingjr98's Profile Photo

Ewingjr98

"Return to Seoul"
View Member
kdoc13's Profile Photo

kdoc13

"Seoul - My favorite place on Earth!"
View Member
AKtravelers's Profile Photo

AKtravelers

"Seoul: Energy in the Land of the Morning Calm"
View Member
schwein's Profile Photo

schwein

"Organized Chaos --> Seoul, South Korea"
View Member
 
 

Area Reviews: Sinchon area

Sinchon..

is a cheap area to go out... famous for having a vibrant nightlife.. it may have been the origional club area.. though things have changed.... There are always alot of people out and about at night. soju and beer can be found everywhere. There are lots of students and the crowd here is generally a youthful uni crowd

Christianzagar's Profile Photo
Christianzagar
Jun 09, 2005

Hongdae (홍대) - All night dance clubs

Hongdae (홍대)is Seoul's club scene for the younger college crowd.

Hongdae (the nickname for the Hongik University Area) is perhaps the most popular nightlife area in a city well-known for its nightlife. This area is full of dance clubs, bars, and university students looking for a good time. US soldiers tend to congregate here after curfew as well. My favorite spots are Stompers and Hodge Podge (or as the Koreans say "Hodge-ee Podge-ee".

Nearby restaurants stay open all night to serve breakfast to the tired and drunk after a long night of dancing.

Ewingjr98's Profile Photo
Ewingjr98
Apr 04, 2011

Sinchon Area - Traditional Korean with West flair

Sinchon is a typical Korean nightlife area with mostly quiet bars, few clubs, and no Westerners.

The area around between Sinchon train station and Sinchon subway station is a popular spot for Yonsei University and Ewha Women's University students. It has dozens of traditional Korean bars, jazz clubs, and restaurants. Sinchon also has a good deal of Western Bars and is probably the #4 area for foreigners, behind Itaewon, Hongdae, and Daehongno.

My favorite bars in Sinchon:

Rolling Stones, named after the American band, is one of the best Western-style bars in the Sinchon area. The customers are a good mix of Koreans and westerners, and they play great rock and classic rock music. Rolling Stones serves strong mixed drinks at good prices.

Dream On is a cozy hangout in Sinchon with "ice bars" -- tables with self service beer in a tub of ice the middle. Mostly Korean customers here, and the music is generally American pop. They have an amazing selection of vinyl records.

What's Up is a fusion style bar in Sinchon. It has the blueish lights that might remind you of a bug zapper and expensive drinks.

Ewingjr98's Profile Photo
Ewingjr98
Jan 27, 2007

Daehangno Area - Bars, arts, and culture

Daehangno is another rather typical Korean nightlife area, but this seems to attract more Westerners, due to its arts and theater district.

Daehangno is a very popular area for Hansung University students. To the east of Hyehwa station is Maronnier Park, a popular area for bands, street entertainers, and pick up games of basketball. Around the park are many popular restaurants and bars, both Korean and western style (including Bennigans). This area is also famous for its theater performances. To the west of Hyehwa station is a popular shopping street.

Ewingjr98's Profile Photo
Ewingjr98
Jan 27, 2007

Things to Do Near Seoul

Things to Do

Cheong Gye Cheon - Man Made Stream

Cheonggyecheon steam is a nice place to escape a busy Seoul lifestyle. In fact, steam is located just in the centre but somehow you don't feel like you are in the centre. Magic There are many small...
View More
Things to Do

Korea House & Namsan Hanok Folk Village

At first there is no "entrance fee" completely open to public for free. In this village displays various household goods and furniture arranged in accordance with the times of which they were a part....
View More
Things to Do

Heunginjimun Dongdaemoon - Great East Gate

Dongdaemun is known for its shopping area, a place for a cheap clothing items in Korea. But actually means Great East Gate. This is more commonly called Dongdaemun Gate, first built in 1398. This was...
View More
Things to Do

Dongdaemun Market

I visited this night market during my last night in Seoul. I was not impresed as it was mainly a clothes market. The area though is great to walk around in the evening as it is surrounded by the big...
View More
Things to Do

Tapgol Park (Pagoda Park)

This is a crowded city centre park. Not so green, but with some interesting historical sites. Tapgol Park is built on the former site of Wongak Temple which was destroyed at a time when Buddhism was...
View More
Things to Do

Ongo-food Communication,- Day Tours

Why not take a cooking class? Learn to cook a Korean dish. That's what I did when I visited Seoul! It's a fun experience and something that you can bring home with you (new cooking skills) to enjoy...
View More

Getting to Seoul

Address

We don't yet have an address for this Nightlife. Help us improve our info!

Hours

We don't yet have hours for this Nightlife. Help us improve our info!

Map